Visiting the Acropolis of Athens, in restoring ruins

A journey through history and preservation efforts of this lasting legacy

Alejandro Cuba Ruiz
Globetrotters
Published in
10 min readJan 25, 2023

--

When restoration work is complete to bring the Acropolis of Athens closer to its former glory, the existing ruins will continue intact in museums and photographs like the ones featured in this article.

View of the Acropolis from the Roman Agora — Photo by author

I have fond memories of my 4-week stay in Athens during the Spring of 2022 and photos I took with my smartphone camera, which I’d love to share. I invite you to join me on a journey through the impressive history of the Acropolis, a complex built over several centuries, frequently destroyed, and many times rebuilt.

Access through the neighborhood of Plaka

As soon as my partner and I arrived in the city and settled our belongings, we had Google Maps showing us the walking route to the Acropolis. It was getting dark, so we didn’t enter the Acropolis until a few days after.

It didn’t matter, though; the view from below was breathtaking. The spectacle of the ancient structures lit up against the night sky was a sight to behold.

--

--

Alejandro Cuba Ruiz
Globetrotters

<front-end web engineer />, Angular GDE, traveler, reader, writer, human being.