Travel

When New York Drives Me Insane, These Are the Corners I Escape to

The Reservoir and East Asian Buddhas restored me

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readMay 13, 2024

--

A sunny day and a view of the midtown skyline in NYC from the Reservoir
A magnificent view of Midtown and the UWS from the Reservoir walk (credit: Monica Ray)

The week had been rough at work and I needed some time to myself. I was feeling frazzled but I didn’t want to stay indoors and wallow in self-pity. As New Yorkers were promised stunning spring weather on Saturday, I vowed to bathe in sunshine and disinfect myself of toxic thoughts.

The city is exciting, but New Yorkers like me need peace and quiet too. However, not everyone can escape to a second home in the Catskill Mountains or on the beaches of Long Island.

In the midst of daily cacophony, dirt, and chaos, there are little havens of peace tucked away from the raucous madness, if you look carefully and allow yourself the time to explore.

The Reservoir

One such place is the Reservoir on the Upper East Side. When you get to Engineer’s Gate on 90th and 5th, you’ll think I’m quite mad in suggesting this as a contemplative location.

At the Reservoir, I was instantly surrounded by runners, joggers, people-gazers, cyclists, overachievers who were jogging while pushing double-strollers, and tourists who posed for Insta-selfies with their Lululemon gear on.

--

--

Monica Ray, M.Ed, MS
Globetrotters

Top and Boosted Writer. I write food/travel pieces centered around the UK, India, and the US. I also cover writing. Follow me on Instagram @monicaonthemoveray