TRAVEL|TRAVEL WRITING|WRITING|CREATIVE WRITING

Walking London’s Capital Ring

Stokey to Beckton

Mario López-Goicoechea
Globetrotters
Published in
5 min readApr 11, 2024

--

The skyline of Canary Wharf (all photos by author)

Even for a naturalised Londoner like me, in a decades-long love affair with this city, the British capital still has moments of wonder. A reminder that an adventure is never far from one’s doorstep.

I’ve been wanting to walk the length of the Capital Ring ever since I cycled on the Parkland Walk a couple of years ago and found out it was part of the route. On a recent Sunday morning I got my wish, even if I managed only two sections of the entire trek.

The Capital Ring is a loop around London that takes in some of the more spectacular sights this city has to offer. The fact that many of them are off the beaten track renders the outing more exciting. Officially opened in 2005, this urban walk (more about the “urban” later), stays usually within ten miles of the Big Ben. From north to south, east to west, some of the landmarks walkers will come across include Eltham Palace, the Olympic Park, Crystal Palace Park, and Hackney Marshes.

I asked a friend to join me on what was bound to be a rare on-foot journey for me. I’m used to going for long walks in the countryside. My posts on my visit to Yorkshire in the summer of 2022 are evidence of this. When it comes to London, however, I tend to…

--

--