Wanderlust : West Bengal

I miss Panagarh, its people and everything about it.

Sneh Gaurav
Globetrotters
5 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Photo by Arya Jalundhwala on Unsplash

I miss West Bengal dearly. I miss the warmth and sense of community. I miss the aura and the buzz of the city. I miss the people and the fact that everyone is so welcoming. I miss West Bengal.

A few months back, I went to this beautiful place called Panagarh, Durgapur, West Bengal to spend some time away from city life. It was a place full of natural beauty and history, and I will never forget my trip there. The greenery, the serenity, and the fresh air will always stay with me. The sound of the local language, the smell of the delicious food, and the hospitality of the people there were incomparable. I could feel the sense of belonging and connection to the place and its people, and I can’t wait to go back and experience it all again.

I’d never been on a long train trip before, and I was excited to see what Panagarh had to offer. I took a seat and looked out the window as the scenery changed. It was a new experience and I was filled with awe and admiration at the spectacular view of the landscapes passing by. It was a sight that I will cherish forever.

Photo by Alan on Unsplash

So, our journey began from the beginning in the evening from Old Delhi railway station and every moment spent on the journey was a lifetime memory for me.

I remember, when I got off the train it was around 11 in the morning and when I got off, I could sense a different, new and totally fresh aura. The city looked alive and vibrant, and I felt like I had finally arrived in my new home. A home for a few days!

Photo by Lakshay on Unsplash

The infrastructure was dilapidated and quite old, and it reminded me of old Bollywood movies from the golden era. The roads were so narrow and crowded, and there were people from all walks of life. Everywhere I looked I saw something new and interesting.

From the vendors selling their wares to the street performers, every sight was a new experience for me. Even the food felt different and tasted exotic. I could feel the joy and happiness of the people, and it made me feel so content and at ease. The city was so alive and I felt like I was a part of it.

The journey from Durgapur to Panagarh was a whole new experience for me. The city of Durgapur was bustling and vibrant, full of life and culture. I also visited the temples and monuments that were a part of the city’s rich history. I was mesmerized by the beauty of the place, and I was filled with joy the entire time. I am so glad I had the chance to explore that place!

Photo by Arnab Dey on Unsplash

And on the other hand, Panagarh was quite low-key and quite a place with a richer history. It has been said that the place has a lot of snakes, which makes it quite interesting and unique. also has a lot of archeological sites that show evidence of its past civilization.

I even visited this beautiful place called, Purulia. There are also some beautiful lakes here such as Khairabera Lake and the Pancha Bhutas Lake. I took a boat ride there and it was simply mesmerizing! I felt like I was in a different world altogether. I could have spent days trying to explore the place, but unfortunately, I had to leave. Nevertheless, I will definitely be back soon to explore more.

Photo by Boudhayan Bardhan on Unsplash

It was the month of October, which means the offset of the monsoon. So, I made sure that I carried mosquito repellents and above all, full clothes and trekking shoes. I was in the jungle, so I knew that I would be walking through dense vegetation, along rivers, and through wet areas. I wanted to be prepared for whatever the weather might bring.

And the best part of my whole trip was, without a doubt- The Durga Pooja.

The Durga Pooja is a ten-day festival in which worshipers worship the goddess Durga. It is held on the tenth day of the Hindu month of Kartika. The atmosphere of the festival was incredible. People were singing, dancing, and offering prayers to the goddess. The vibrant colours of the decorations and the costumes of the people were mesmerizing. People were sharing food and laughing, and the atmosphere was filled with joy and happiness. I felt so accepted and part of the celebration. It was the perfect end to my amazing trip.

Photo by Swarnavo Chakrabarti on Unsplash

I remember I got a beautiful white saree with a red border which represents shakti. It was a kind of dress code that we wore on the day of pooja, followed by Sindoor Khela and Unmarried girls can’t play but I still enjoyed witnessing this lovely ritual of celebration. We all ate delicious food, sang and danced and had a wonderful time. It was a day of celebration and joy that I will never forget.

I returned home with a lot of memories and souvenirs, feeling more content than ever. I was so happy to have explored this amazing place and I know that I will never forget this amazing journey.

Photo by Boudhayan Bardhan on Unsplash

The highlight of my trip was the opportunity to experience the vibrant and lively culture of the city. From the delicious street food to the colourful markets and traditional performances, I was immersed in the unique culture of Kolkata. I had the chance to witness the famous Durga Puja celebrations, which was a truly remarkable experience. The streets were filled with people, music and vibrant decorations, and I could feel the excitement in the air. It was truly an unforgettable experience and I am so glad I was able to take part in it.

All in all, it was an unforgettable experience and I’m so glad I was able to take part in it.

বাংলায় স্বাগতম

বাংলার অভিজ্ঞতা

ভারতের মিষ্টি অংশ

Welcome to Bengal

Experience Bengal

The sweetest part of India

--

--

Sneh Gaurav
Globetrotters

In this world full of papers, I promise to write you letters.