FEAR

When Turbulence Broke My Body

The Flight Attendant Diaries

Janna Barrett
Globetrotters
Published in
9 min readMar 18, 2024

--

All images by Janna Barrett

The scariest thing about flights that go wrong is not the emergency itself. It’s the fact that those flights start off just like all the others. Every subsequent flight forces you to reckon with the memories of a real-life jump-scare.

Flying is incredibly safe due to the extensive training and experience of everyone involved. The crew perform hundreds of safety and security checks before each takeoff, and we’re trained to identify other potential risks. But not everything is within our purview, and that’s where turbulence often lies — just beyond our control.

One day last summer, I rolled up to the gate with every reason to believe I was working a typical flight.

I was particularly excited for that trip since I’d get to layover with my then-boyfriend in California, and later with some friends in Atlanta.

After checking in and greeting the pilots, I caught up with my friend on the crew, and introduced myself to our third crew member. We boarded, completed our safety checks, and briefed about the flight ahead. No turbulence was anticipated.

We welcomed the passengers, secured the baggage, performed the safety demo, and…

--

--

Janna Barrett
Globetrotters

Hi! I'm an Artist and Flight Attendant based in DC. I write and draw about my experiences as a travel professional. Follow for adventure and emotion!