TRAVEL. CITY TRIPS.

Where You Can Find the Last Glühwein Station Before the North Pole

A city trip to the Baltic Sea, Warnemünde

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters
Published in
7 min readMay 7, 2022

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

My husband said, “how far is it to the ocean?”. That was all we needed to plan the day ahead. We had no bookings and therefore had the following day no work. It didn’t take much more than a quick look into Google Maps and we knew it wasn’t too far.

We were going.

To the beach.

The next morning we just ate breakfast and jumped into the car. The journey was taking us north. And in just 1,5 hours we arrived at the harbor city of Rostock.

My husband was driving and I was guiding him toward the ocean. I thought we would go across the harbor but I was wrong. I expected us to cross the river on a bridge. But we weren’t. A tunnel was built underneath the water.

Eventually, we made it. The parking lot wasn’t the cheapest one in town I was sure of it. But it was close to the beach and the city center.

A few steps down and we could see the ocean.

The Baltic Sea.

It was my husband’s first time at the Baltic Sea. I had visited once before, but further west of this town.

--

--

Anne Bonfert
Globetrotters

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.