You Should Go to This Happy Place on a Gray November Day

Poulami Sinhamahapatra
Globetrotters
Published in
8 min readNov 9, 2023

--

A figurine of Christmas angel (Christkind) from Christmas market in Nuremberg, ©️ Poulami Sinhamahapatra

Well about November, you know it’s here when you see more leaves on the streets than on the trees. The pleasant autumn colours start to pile up on a brownish heap on the sidewalks and beneath the trees. About Gray, well ever since I arrived in Germany, I feel this is what I have looked at outside my windows predominantly the whole year except on few summer weeks (may be stretch it to a few months!). And you know that winter is coming with frost gathering up on the brown leaves.

But not everything has to be gloomy just because it’s Gray outside. For me, whenever I think of November, I start to remember the aromatic smell of cinnamon, as well as all the other spices in the mulled wine (Glühwein). I remember about the freshly baked cookies like the popular German gingerbreads (Lebkuchen). And, most irresistible is the drafting smell of Nutella on freshly prepared waffles. Well, you guessed it right, the place I am suggesting you to go to is no city or country, but traditional Christmas markets. Since, I have been living in Germany for quite a few years, I remember November by the aroma of Christmas markets (WeihnachtsMarkt in German).

Well Christmas is only in December, so why am I blabbering all about it in November? Because most of the traditional Christmas markets in Germany, are officially inaugurated in November. So…

--

--

Poulami Sinhamahapatra
Globetrotters

Researcher in AI & Vision. Writer. Poet. Wanderer. I am found in my stories.