A bloody beauty: Menstruation in 5 Haikus

Katie Simpson
Glorious Birds
Published in
1 min readDec 8, 2016

#1 Run home and cling to advil

aches rush to my hips
down my knees, singing again
the same winter storm

#2 Some veterans forget their guns, i forget tampons

i should be ready, i’m a
veteran of the red wars, but i
stumble like every spring foal

#3 What i’d like to tell you when you ask me how i am

you know shit of pain
my vag is a red graveyard
masked in bright lipstick

#4 Keep your condom on

you fear blood on your penis
i fear my legs curling death into
an ancient, unknown season

#5 Why I still love her

she declares me creation
anoints me a holy destruction
a magic you can’t control

Love the piece? Say thanks by buying me a bottle of Advil.

--

--

Katie Simpson
Glorious Birds

Astrologer, Cat mom, big heart, old soul. Fuel my caffeine addiction http://paypal.me/KS1989