Creating a silver lining

Katelyn Darrow, founder of Angels of God Clothing Closet, uses her difficult past as motivation to help others

Kristen Dowd
Gloucester County Living
2 min readDec 14, 2016

--

Katelyn Darrow

Katelyn Darrow knows what it’s like being a person in need. Instead of spending every day reflecting on a past that has included being a survivor of domestic violence and a house fire, she uses those not so memorable moments from her life as motivation for helping others. At a very young age — 12 to be exact — she started a 501c3 nonprofit organization called Angels of God Clothing Closet in Pitman that provides clothing and more for free for families in need.

“Because my family and I were in need at one time, I feel like I can relate (even just in a small capacity) to the clients referred to our organization,” Darrow, who is now a college student, said. “People come to us from all different circumstances and walks of life, but we try to provide a positive, uplifting experience for them. It touches my heart because I remember how influenced I was by the individuals and organizations that assisted my family and I.”

One “positive, uplifting” experience included her Easter Basket Outreach Project in which 800 Easter baskets were assembled in New Jersey and another 200 were put together in California. The organization also made 250 care package baskets full of snacks and treats that were given to homeless men and women living on the streets of Camden.

“In all, 1,250 Easter baskets were given out. We partnered with local homeless shelters and youth-oriented nonprofits in Gloucester County and Los Angeles,” Darrow said. “… But I really would like to say “thank you” because this outreach project wouldn’t have been possible without everyone who donated. The support and generosity from others is what makes my organization thrive. I wouldn’t be able to do it alone!”

Her mother has served as a role model every step of the way, which includes instilling the importance of helping others.

“She taught us to be selfless, rather than selfish, and through that sentiment, I learned that happiness comes from being the giver, not the receiver,” Darrow said. “I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it wasn’t for my mother.”

Darrow, who is majoring in communications with an influence in journalism, is far from finished with sharing her giving nature. It includes planning more West Coast-based projects while expanding the little Pitman storefront “that is bustling at the seams.”

“But it’s all in God’s hands,” Darrow said. “We’ll see where the organization goes, but I have no doubts that we’ll continue to accomplish great things together.”

Gloucester County Living profiled Katelyn Darrow as part of its Women of Gloucester County 2016 series.

--

--