Don’t overthink. Just try it!

Fabrice K.E.M
Glowing Bulb
Published in
5 min readApr 4, 2023

Here I am, in front of a blank page. Nothing meaningful comes to mind. I’m simply pondering whether or not I’m capable of writing a book. What can I write about at the moment? How do people who write go about it? Am I intellectually qualified enough to do this? What makes this moment different from any other moment where the thought of writing emerged but the body never acted accordingly? Why do I feel like I’m blessed with a million questions? So many questions — where are the answers?

Yes, I guess you figured it out already. All of this was going through my head as I was typing. You can trust my words; I can’t describe the feeling. Though it’s a good feeling, it’s also very relaxing. I wonder how every writer feels about it and goes about it. The empowering and symbiotic aspects of writing and thinking all at once make me feel just right.

Wow! I’ve just got consciously aware of it. Did you see I wrote two paragraphs already? No kidding! Let me see what in the world I just wrote.

Hmm… I read them, and honestly, it was too fast, strange, different, and more like someone else wrote them. I noticed there was all this imposing guilt when I read a word that did not sound right to me. On the other hand, it was completely engaging. My mind got into “how can I say this better” mode. So, I started editing a few words and sentences. Anytime I made a change, the meaning changed a bit. Some sound better, some do not, and for some, I can’t even tell. Gradually, it was becoming frustrating and more demanding on my literature knowledge. When I move upward to read something after I edit a section, it creates some sort of cascade editing effect. I have to change, read, and change, and it seems to take more time and more thinking than putting down the actual thoughts related to the overall topic. As if things couldn’t get any worse, I got an incoming notification on my device and had to decide whether or not to ignore it. You take a guess!

When I finally got back to the writing, I realized, Wait a minute! I stopped writing a couple minutes before even the distracting notification came in. Realizing that I also lost the actual moment, context, and ambiance that led me to write those paragraphs. So I spent a few more minutes trying to rewind myself into it. Get the inspiring moment back, which didn’t seem to be working. I know I was editing a section, but which one in particular? The idea was gone.

Then I am like, Let me see the good side of this situation. Instead of getting upset and trying desperately to get my so inspiring moment back, why not narrate what has just actually happened? And guess what? I did and got two more paragraphs out of it. Yes, you just read them. I had fun writing those paragraphs because they were nowhere near the initial context, but for me, they illustrated better the kind of distractions that can take away the flow when you are doing inspiring work.

Action toward the unknown induces a pure form of learning. Whoever learns something has either discovered it or been thought of by someone who did.

Well, I’m not a writer, as far as I’m aware. But I’m pretty sure everything I’ve written since the beginning is telling me otherwise. Unless someone proves to me that I am completely delusional. Have I discovered a way of writing on my own? No way. Do I make it rain with bright ideas? Not at all. Do I redact with eloquent words far better than any other actual writer does? Not even close. So what is it?

For me, it’s simple. I discovered on my own that I can write and gradually get better at it. I also noticed that I could tap into my high school literature knowledge and leverage it to get better at this. All this mind-opening happened because I acted on one thing: Try, just try it!

My aim is to write a novel someday. What I have written so far is enough for an article. Just that! From the moment I start thinking, Well, it can make a book, then I’m really delusional. It’s too little for a novel, but I’m very proud of it. Do I care whether or not it’s consistent and enjoyable for a reader? Yes, strongly, because that’s how I discover the next learning curve in my own apprentice. Am I afraid of external judgments? Whether someone else is going to agree with me on a particular subject or not? Yes. I’m so afraid, so I think people aren’t going to be interested in my writing at all. So much so that I think everyone who will come across it is going to leave nothing but bad feedback. Am I shy of publishing this because people will discover how mediocre I am? Wait, am I mediocre? Anyway… Yes, I’m afraid people are going to judge. But in all that noise in my head, I could gratefully pick out the little one saying: There’s only one way to find out. Publish it! Share it!

What’s in the well will come up in the bucket!

Fear of others disliking your craft is perfectly normal. Everyone who succeeded publicly went through it. You think you are good? Well, people might clarify that for you. It’s a process no one can escape to make a public impact. Allow people to help you learn better. Go for it! They don’t have to know they are helping you in any way. Only you should know how to channel someone’s intervention in your work into substance for improvement. People always tend to strongly react to what they don’t agree with or what they think is amazing. Find out what they think about your work. At the end, you’ll be the only beneficiary.

Whether I succeed or fail, I learn anyway!

Have you noticed how I went from being a novice writer, not knowing what to write, to now teaching you social behavior toward one’s work? It was gradual. I let myself go into action. I tried to learn how to express myself first. That opened up the psychological door I built up over time out of doubts and prejudging. Any doubt about not being capable of writing is now gone. I’m sure of it because I can see and read the paragraphs I wrote. I wrote it. Don’t get me twisted though; I’m still learning how to become a good writer.

Everyone has something to say; everyone has something unique to offer to impact the mass. But if no one tries anything, nothing will be done, and worse, no one will ever know. So, once again, whatever it is you dream of doing but never move a finger toward: Just try it!

Thank you for reading. Kindly follow so I can keep you posted.

--

--

Fabrice K.E.M
Glowing Bulb

I help give simple explanations of complex life topics | FS Developer | @Cubic-bubble Core Team | @Multipple Core Team | mind opening | freedom & better life