Review: Glug Leeds #4 — Glug Reloaded

Ben Whitfield-Heap
5 min readMar 31, 2017

--

Originally written on simplyben.co.uk on the 26 April 2016

I’m going to start off by saying that I’m not sure why I’m writing this article, but after leaving the talks just now at Glug Leeds #4 — Glug Reloaded, I had an overwhelming feeling to review them. Maybe it’s the numerous pints of North Brewing Co’s Prototype, or maybe there are just opinions I wanted heard. Anyway, as I sit here now with my 4 pack of Red stripe and El Faro’s Pizza collected on the way to my shitty 1 bed flat in Burley Park, let me start to review.

What is Glug Leeds Reloaded?

I’m new to digital networking in Leeds, but after working in the IT and Digital space since 2009, I figured it’s time to participate. I came across Glug whilst looking at the events going on at Leeds Digital Festival this week. It’s Tuesday and I’ve already been to 2 events so far. My hat goes off to Stuart Clarke for organising this, it’s definitely needed. Leeds is big in digital, and it’s time everyone knew this. Glug #4 is one of 2 Glug events going in this week, the other, Glug #5 taking place at Dock 29 on Thursday (see you there). Glug describe themselves as “A series of events for the design and creative community…Based around a series of talks and informal networking.”

My views overall after my first Glug, are that it’s great. I will definitely going back for more. The Matrix jokes at the start were, erm, I want to say not great, but other than that it was hosted really well. Now onto the reviews.

East Street Arts presents the Art Hostel

First up was Nicola Greenan from East Street Arts Hostel. Nicola presented to us an idea, now a reality of a hostel where Artists could stay and have access to an evolving gallery/exhibition space on the ground floor. I love this idea and I hope it continues to exceeed. Nicola’s presentation was humble, which was amazing considering all the hard work and free labour that has gone into making the project a reality. Out of all the presentations tonight this one was the most I’d want to get behind. For me, it’s everything that is good bout Art and the Art Community. My hat goes off to anyone involved in this.

Oslo

Oslo, what can I say. Performance wise, this was my favourite presentation of the night, and also the start of the #FuckLondon theme that seemed to run throughout the next two presentations, much to mine and the audiences delight. Oslo is a brand new agency in Leeds, with nothing to actually do with the city Oslo itself apart from inspiration it takes. Although new to the scene the newly formed team of Eleanor Nicholson and Alexander Partington have already got some impressive names underneath their belt. Alexander’s on stage performance was particularly impressive. Looking like a cross between Jesus and Justin Lee Collins, there was definitely a man with an enjoyable personality and stage presence who is bound to go far.

StrawberryToo

I was aware of the StrawberryToo agency concept before I attended the talks tonight, however was not aware that I, being one of the first people into the event space would be sat on the sofas next to them before they took to the stage. Obviously being the nosy busy body I am, I listened to what their pre-presentation chat. I was intrigued to see how the speaker, Elliot Mann, would perform on stage after witnessing someone wrestling with nerves beforehand. The StrawberryToo concept for those of you that don’t know is to create an agency under the watchful eye of its parent Strawberry with staff comprising of Graduates and Apprentices. They work with real businesses and clients but due to the seniority of the staff are able to provide lower costs.

As Elliot approached the stage, I shouldn’t have been concerned. He, was full of confidence, taking to the stage naturally, maybe too naturally. Although the StrawberryToo model did reiterate that all there work was checked by Senior designers from Strawberry a slight skepticism still washed over me. There is a danger that giving this freedom does allow a certain arrogance to surface that did come across slightly in the presentation. One that cannot be quashed by senior peers to produce a more humble and all round better digital team member. That is just my opinion though and maybe one though the eyes of an arrogant so and so, that’s just bitter that such an opportunity was never presented to him during his junior days. Overall the StrawberryToo business model intrigues me. They obviously have a talented workforce but is this just a cheap form of labour or will this develop them into the stars of the future? Only time will tell.

Matt Davis Photography

The penultimate presentation was from Matt Davis, an exceptional photographer. This was probably the most informative of all 5 presentations of the evening. Matt breaking down his work showing us how he created the beautiful images he presented to us. Coming into photography at the age of 25, Matt also demonstrated that it is never too late for a career move. All I think that is left to do with this review is applaud and point you in the direction of his work that will no doubt do the rest.

ZiMovi

And finally, they say you save the best until last, but in this case I’d say we definitely got the worst at the end. The first advice I would give to ZiMovi is, know the audience. Sitting among a crowd of twenty to thirty year old creative types I was baffled why the first half of the presentation would be about the founder and his past success in telecoms. Whilst when most of the crowd were in their early teens or younger, it appears the founder of Zimovi was selling his company for millions. A sales model it appears was the basis for this, I suppose that is kind of creative. It felt like this was more of a pitch aimed at investors rather than the crowd that were in front of them.

The pitch went on but still there was a disengaged, slightly drunk now audience. It seemed to me like someone was trying to pitch a version of Youtube, albeit one you had to pay for.

The chuntering was apparent around me and when the Zimovi video failed to play. Although the founder tried to connect with the audience reiterating the point that this was a Leeds company it was really lost at this point. My opinion is that all in all, from the sounds of it, this sounds like an expensive waste of time. However, no doubt through connections some people will pay for it as an opportunity to make some tax savings. I guess I’m yet to be convinced.

Conclusion

And there you have it, an interesting first Glug Leeds for me and I’m well and truely looking forward to #5 on Thursday. Although if there is a write-up from that one I’ll probably wait until the weekend to write it.

--

--