The Beauty of Internet Friendships

There was a time when meeting people on the internet was presumed to be sexual. If you still think so, read on and change your assumption.

Tales of Friendship
Tales of Friendship
1 min readAug 14, 2017

--

“I came here to meet a girl that I know from the Internet. She’s coming all the way from Belarus. It’s nothing sexual. Just a friendship. Her name is Olga. We’ve known each other for seven years but this is the first time we’re meeting in person. She’s supported me through a lot of hard times. I get bullied a lot. People at my school often call me names and try to start fights with me. They send love letters to other guys in my name. Olga has comforted me a lot. She checks in with me throughout the day. She says things like: ‘You don’t deserve it.’ And ‘Don’t pay attention to them.’ Her messages have really helped me get through the last few years — even if they were just words on the Internet.”

Source: Humans of New York

Here’s to all internet friendships who’ve been a huge source of support and pure love ❤

--

--