Children Should Go Fishing

Nan Bolar
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
4 min readDec 12, 2017

This I Believe…….

It took me by complete surprise. My question was an innocent one. His answer, on the other hand, broke my heart and made me think and reflect. I’m not sure I was ever the same teacher again.

In one of my first years in the classroom, it came time to assess my little eight year olds in reading. Professional Educators in our district use a “kit” of books designed to measure each student where they are at in their reading skills. The thin three to four page story books are offered by the teacher in both fiction and non-fiction versions.

As the other 19 students scattered themselves comfortably around the classroom and buried their noses in their independent reading books, I quietly called my student to the “teachers” table. Students are usually nervous about reading for the teacher and I try to make each student feel as comfortable as possible. I offer them the two books (fiction and non-fiction) at the selected level and read them the short introductory sentences meant to entice them into choosing the book. Today my student chose the non-fiction book about fishing. The book tells about the equipment you need to go fishing and some other interesting facts about this well loved outdoor sport. Then I asked the question. “Have you ever gone fishing?”

“No, Mrs. Bolar, I’ve never been fishing. I would like to go, but I never have.” As my student read the book and tried to comprehend all of the parts of a pole with questions in his eyes, I thought back to my experience with fishing as a child and with my husband. I learned so many things about life while I was fishing, that I truly believe all children should get a chance to go fishing. These are the things I believe.

I believe children learn what they live. They learn patience while waiting for the first bite of the day, while waiting for the drizzle to stop so the fishing is more fun and when it doesn’t stop they take the disappointment and learn to adjust. They learn patience while driving or walking to the favorite secret fishing spot.

I believe children learn a love for the outdoors. They learn about water, about its joys and dangers. They see how that water can be easily destroyed by the careless discard of paper and plastic. They experience a new and exciting world filled with eagles, beavers, frogs, cranes, minnows, and the autumn toasted fur of a doe with her fawns. Young fishermen and women learn about species and habitats, and how the weather can change and affect both of them.

I believe children will learn to experience emotions. A child who has the opportunity to fish will experience sympathy for a hooked fish and the bait used to catch it, yet with mixed feelings feel pride as they lift their catch up for a picture. Yet when the catch gets away, feel the disappointment and learn to try again and again and again.

I believe children will learn knowledge and responsibility. The child who fishes learns how to behave, how far to throw, how to be quiet, how to take care of their own fishing equipment and that of everyone else. They know where the trees are, where the shore is and how to recognize poison ivy, when to nap and when to pay attention, who is in another boat or next to them on shore and how to be respectful and courteous. Fishermen know how to follow directions and think about their plan.

The fisherman learns to congratulate and be excited for others as they catch but determined for the next time if their nets are empty. The fisherman learns what a bobber, sinker, and line are and is willing to share with others. The fisherman learns why fish need water and how they breathe, their feeding cycles and what happens with the change of the seasons.

I believe children will learn respect. Children who fish experience admiration for the senior fishermen who have loved and learned years before and have the passion to share with a shy or spirited child who may have never experienced the joy. When these experiences are passed on, a child feels connected and loved, supported and smart. The child feels protected and trusted, strong, capable and independent. Children who fish hear stories that cause laughter, teach, and inspire.

It won’t ever take me by surprise again. I long for the day that when I offer that book as a choice my students will say, “Oh, I love to fish, I’ll read this one!”

--

--