How to Give a Shit

Corina Rogers
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
2 min readSep 9, 2016

Thanks to the Greater Madison Writing Project, my eyes are reopened. The first leg of my educational journey, has been littered with assignments, acronyms (SLO, PDP, PLC, etc…), and avoidance. It has been easier to survive as a teacher for the last twenty years, by accepting the status quo. My students do well, generally. I teach my history curriculum, generally. Parents, students and administration leave me alone, generally. I was a successful and effective teacher if I squinted at myself only allowing a superficial glimpse in the mirror.

And then came the Teacher Workshop (TW). I was asked to ponder. To question. To think. Who was I as a teacher? What did I value? What did I want to improve in my classroom?

As I explored all of these questions and more, I returned to the beginning. Why did I want to be a teacher? My answer, I wanted to help the students who didn’t know how to play the game. I wanted to help all of my students learn. Through my TW, I realized one of the biggest obstacles was their own apathy. In Wounded by School, Kirsten Olson discussed the damage that school can inflict on all students. Many of the “good students”, just care about the grade, whereas the “bad students” just don’t care. Many students have “quit” long ago. How can I repair them? How can I get my students to “give a shit?”

I’m gonna do it! I’m making the leap. I’m taking the plunge. There’s no going back! That’s it! The time is now.

I’m movin’ the desks.

Can it really be that simple? Can changing my desk formations help students care? I don’t know, but I’m gonna die trying.

My new practice, inspired by my TW, of having students write reflections to help with understanding, retention and connection — to think, to learn, would be more beneficial in writing groups. These groups will build connections to the content and one another. If they’re going to be placed in writing groups, why not configure the classroom into groups? Eureka!

None of these are new ideas, but they’re revolutionary for me. I’m scared. Can I relinquish control to my students? Is my classroom management strong enough to survive standing, semi-permanent groups? They’ll be able to talk. Out loud. To each other. Ask questions and discuss answers. Ponder, wonder and consider… Exactly.

My vision is a classroom where students think and learn together through written reflection. In these writing groups they will form connections and trust. They will begin to “give a shit.”

--

--

Corina Rogers
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project

Seeking Joy. Reaching for Better. Finding Truth. #SocialStudiesTeacher #PayItForward #FootnoteFan #Author www.corinarogers.com