I believe in “ah-ha” moments

Reidun Bures
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
3 min readOct 3, 2017

A letter to my students

Dear 7th graders,

I believe in “ah-ha” moments and I hope you do too. Some of you may have found these moments in this class — a time when you knew you were a poet, a speaker, or a comedian. Some of you fell in love with new books or revisited favorites. You found yourself in the pages or were exposed to something completely new that shocked or moved or inspired you. Some of you developed new passions through your own research and discovery. You reflected, made goals, and all of you have grown in ways that are visible but also in ways that are hidden to you.

If you didn’t have an ah-ha moment, please believe that you will. For those of you who did, please believe there will be others. Some will be subtle and others will be bold. One of my greatest ah-ha moments was figuring out I wanted to be in this room with you. I didn’t know that some of the most beautiful joys in my life would come from being in a classroom filled with funny, smart, and unbelievably energetic 7th graders. I started college as a political science and economics major. I wanted to be a lawyer and move to New York. I imagined myself in fancy suits and high heels looking just like Anne Hathaway after her makeover in a Devil Wears Prada. I would be powerful, confident, and make loads of money.

After first semester, my sister begged me to coach her 5th grade basketball team. There wasn’t a coach and there is no season without a coach. I spent that season wrangling inexperienced basketball players into some semblance of a team. One particular member of this team created my ah-ha moment. Sophia was a tall, lanky, long-haired 10 year-old. Sophia had never touched a basketball; she didn’t know one basketball rule or one technique. Every single time she received the ball it was lost through steals, double dribbles, or travels. Yet, Sophia persisted and slowly got better. She certainly wasn’t good but she was better. On the very last game Sophia got the ball, threw it into the air, and it went into the basket! She turned to me, smiled wide, and flung both her arms straight into the air- a double first pump. Here was my ah-ha moment. She had grown and was so proud of herself. I was proud of her and I knew high heels and fancy suites weren’t going to make me happy. I wanted to be around kids. The connections and growth of young people is magic. You guys are magic.

Please believe there will be something that excites you as much as being here with you excites me. This thing you find will light you up. You will commit your life to this thing and it will be spectacular. Finding your thing won’t fix all of your problems. It certainly won’t protect you from pain. But it will drive you and spark qualities and ambition inside of you that you didn’t know were possible. I can’t wait until you have your big and small ah-ha moments. When you do, please contact me and tell me what you discovered. My greatest joy as a teacher is and will always be to know that each of you have found your own purpose and joy.

So, please believe in your own ah-ha moments just as much as I believe in each and everyone of you.

Cheering you on,

Mrs. Bures

--

--