I believe in you!

You can do this!

nancy beszhak
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
2 min readOct 4, 2017

--

Source

“Please stop! Hear my words! I believe in you! This is not what you expected and I can’t change it or fix it. I see in you a strength and power to turn this around. I believe in you!”

Powerful and empowering words for someone to hear. They could be words heard by a student struggling to navigate the world of school, a teen trying to become an adult and balance the pressure between family and friends, an adult trying to take a risk and try something new, or anyone that has made a mistake and now needs to navigate the consequences. “I believe in you to figure this out!”

What is so powerful about such a simple sentence? When self doubt or lack of worth cause an obstacle, the simple sentence “I believe in you!” can cause one to pause. Negative thoughts that consume the mind are put in the background and a new viewpoint can be considered. Everyone needs to hear these words; they need a champion that believes in them.

Life is filled with difficult times when challenges bombard us, doubt creeps in and it is almost impossible to work thru the issues. Hearing someone express “I believe in you!” may cause a momentary pause where it is possible to consider how to make the first step towards making a change. What a gift to hear these words when they are the most needed. A teacher greeting a timid student venturing into school, “you got this, I believe in you!” A parent embracing their child on a difficult day whispering, “I believe in you, you can do this.” A friend or mentor voicing their encouragement, seeing talents that the individual may not see, “you will be amazing, I believe in you!”

Champions cause us — force us — to stop and reconsider our inner strength. At seven I announced I wanted to be a ballerina, one of my champions didn’t blink an eye, “yup, you can do that, you can do anything you set your mind to do.” I considered what I would need to do to become a ballerina; nope not what I wanted to do. It wasn’t important that I followed thru with my plan, what was most valuable was the confidence I gained knowing that someone believed I could do whatever I set my mind to do.

So I look for ways to pay it forward. I am on watch for individuals who need someone to look them in the eye and say those powerful words, “You can do this! I believe in you. You can figure this out!”

--

--