Learning to Communicate or Communicating to Learn?

Katie Crane
3 min readSep 16, 2016

--

What are the goals of language learners?

Photo on Flickr by Frits Ahlefeldt-Laurvig

Almost like the chicken and the egg controversy, are the students in my classroom learning to communicate or are the students in my class communicating to learn? Is it both? What are the goals of my classroom? What is the most effective way to learn a language? I know that the traditional method that I experienced and that is seen in many classrooms across the United States is not the natural process of learning a language. Language acquisition needs to be natural. Natural acquisition includes communication that demonstrates understanding and interactions in the target language. (See the work of Stephen Krashen for more information.) I have felt the need for radical change for a few years now. I have made changes here and there, I have strived for improvement, but has it been enough? Have I been moving in the right direction? It is a vicious cycle that we wring ourselves through. So what do I do now?

During the past summer, I have had time to sit back and reflect thanks to the incredible group of teachers that I have had the pleasure of working with in the Greater Madison Writing Project. I have heard many questions posed by these teachers to reflect upon. I have also thought about past students and run into graduates. During these encounters I wondered, would this have made it better for you. What if I would have . . . ? When I was a child, my father used to respond to my questions of what if with, “What if?” Yes, exactly, the what if’s have passed. I need to embrace the new ideas and combine them with my knowledge and past feelings to draft a new, “what will be?”

As I sat down and listened to a teacher workshop, presented by Corina Rogers, at aiding students who struggle, a few phrases that I heard stood out to me. They centered upon giving students time for reflection. That is what I need to do, reflect. There is light, bright light coming out from behind the clouds. Remember more, take time, slow down, allow for. These sentence fragments lead me to think about the many teacher workshops that were presented recently.

Remember more. What helps us remember more? This idea was actually brought up in two teacher workshops. (Corina Rogers and Ashley Collegnon) Multiple methods and visual aids, of course, I know that. It is something that most of us have learned in school. I need to make sure I take time to include even more methods. Connecting to the material in one method may only reach some students. I use various methods throughout each unit but I need to take time and slow down in order to present the same material in several methods. Personal connections are as important and curriculum connections. Again, take time and allow for more personal connections. I have always felt that my students make strong connections with each other but now, I want to see them making connections with each other so that they can learn through their communication. Which brings me back to my question, are students learning to communicate or communicating to learn? A little of both really. As I said before, we have this vicious cycle of preparing and planning that is ever evolving. But learning and communicating have a virtual relationship. They are both used and both have importance. Just like the chicken and the egg.

--

--

Katie Crane

Speak, Write, Listen, Read . . . now do it in another language. That is what we do in our classroom.