Lifting Their Voices And Learning From Each Other:

A Celebration of My Daughter’s Second Grade Teacher

Susan Hart
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
5 min readOct 28, 2020

--

In August of 2020 I made an incredibly difficult decision, to leave teaching in order to stay home and take care of my two young daughters. I miss teaching terribly, but I am fortunate to be able to make this decision for my family. I am incredibly grateful for this time with my girls, seeing them learn, grow, and bond.

Our GMWP yearlong institute began with a week at the end of July, as I was personally struggling at the brink of this major life change. In our institute, appropriately titled “What We Can Become,” I was instantly inspired by fellow educators who surrounded me in little Zoom boxes. Some of them I’ve known for a while and consider dear friends, and some were new colleagues with fresh and unique perspectives. After deciding to step away from teaching this year, I knew my continued connection to this institute was vital. I knew, even though my participation looks different now, that I would continue to learn and grow as an educator, surrounded by examples of hard work, real struggles, thoughtful questions, and reflection. I am beyond grateful for this group of brilliant scholars. They remind me that now more than ever, teachers deserve respect, recognition, gratitude, and celebration. That reminder became the inspiration for this piece.

On the morning of September 8, my family was nervously anticipating the beginning of this strange new school year. My daughter Addison was beginning second grade virtually at Emerson Elementary, our neighborhood public school in Madison. For better or worse, she has inherited many qualities from me, including strong emotions and nervousness, especially in brand new situations. I knew it was important for Addie to feel comfortable in her new virtual classroom, and even more importantly, to feel comfortable with her teacher.

From that very first morning, Leah Faherty established a safe, warm, and welcoming virtual space for her second grade students. It was immediately clear to me that she had immersed herself in this new pedagogical environment of virtual teaching. Leah was tackling issues such as creating a virtual space that incorporates all the social, emotional, and cultural ideas that have been successful in her physical teaching world. What a massive undertaking.

artwork by Addison

Leah began her teaching career in 2011, and has been teaching at Emerson since 2013. She shared that “Emerson is a fantastic place to work. I love being a part of such a supportive community. My second grade team works so well together and it really benefits the students.” I asked Leah what she enjoys about teaching second graders. She said, “I love that the kids are more independent learners. I feel second grade is the year kids start making some real connections and really take off in reading.”

During their first Friday morning meeting, I overheard Ms. Faherty telling her students how incredibly proud she was of them, their hard work, and their adjustment to online learning. With her voice breaking she said “. . .and sometimes, friends, when I get so proud of you, I may start to cry.” Addie didn’t see me, but after hearing that, I had to wipe away my own tears. Addie and the rest of her class have known from the beginning that their teacher is there to support them with patience and love. Leah makes this a commitment: “Any student I have is always my student. I am always there for them and am going to step up and speak up for what they need.” When I asked Addie to describe Ms. Faherty, the first two words she used were “funny” and “fun.” Also, “she’s really good at helping us learn.”

When asked about relationship building in her classroom, Leah said “Relationships are the most vital part of teaching. I feel that I can’t ask kiddos to trust me with their learning if I don’t know them as people.” Leah nurtures relationships with her students throughout the school day. She makes each child feel seen, heard, and important. When each Zoom meeting begins, she always takes a few minutes to chat with students as more are logging on. She may talk about students’ pets or toys or artwork, or say hello to their siblings. This time provides valuable opportunities for students to share their lives with her and their classmates. Sharing and bonding continues throughout the structured school day as well. Leah shared that “Part of what I like to do in relationship building is letting the kiddos know who I am as a person.” Her students know some of her favorite things are coffee, Harry Potter, and the Milwaukee Bucks. They know details about her family and friends. They also know that she does a spot-on elephant impression.

artwork by Addison

Leah believes “it is so important at this young age to encourage kids to celebrate differences and to learn from each other daily.” Her second graders are studying culture and identity, and this week they learned about being bilingual. They are learning about other cultures while making connections to their own. Addie has a diverse class with several countries and cultures represented. Ms. Faherty invites students to speak as experts and teach their classmates about their cultures. Leah shared about her own background: “As a child I grew up in rural Southwest Wisconsin and was not exposed to a lot of diversity. When I left Platteville I knew I needed to create situations where I could experience diverse communities/learners and gain knowledge from others. . .I know that I continually need to learn to grow in this area and who best to teach me about diverse backgrounds than these kiddos.”

Leah values and respects each of her students, and lifts them up with her words and actions. She elaborates further on why these practices are so important: “With our current political climate I knew it was going to be extremely important to make sure that everyone’s voice was lifted and that we truly focused on that community feeling. The kids know what is happening in the outside world, to varying degrees, and they know the struggles that people of color are facing currently. It needs to be known to them immediately that they belong in my classroom and we value their presence.”

Leah, I know I speak for many others as well when I say that our family is deeply grateful for you. You are handling this unprecedented school year with grace, compassion, flexibility, and goofiness. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the hard work and love you put into teaching each day. As I’ve heard you say to your students, teaching is not just your job, but a part of your identity. You inspire me.

artwork by Addison

--

--