This I Believe: Being Philanthropic

Melinda Gates said, “Philanthropy is not about the money. It is about using whatever resources you have at your fingertips and applying them to improving the world.” I believe that being philanthropic is the path to facilitate a change for a better world. As a citizen and a teacher I try to model the ideas of being philanthropic because I believe actions speak louder than words.

I learned a lot about philanthropy through working with my local Lions Club. Lions are all about the importance using your time and talents to facilitate positive changes in your community. People often think that to be philanthropic you have to have a lot of money. What many fail to recognize is that most philanthropy happens through people’s use of their time and talents. Working as a group Lions built wheelchair ramps for people, sponsored pancake fundraisers for kids going to national and international powerlifting events, raised money for families in need and children who needed medical treatments, improved local parks, and supported local environmental projects. All Lions working together donating our time and talents to make a change for the better.

A few years ago I was told that I might have macular degeneration. This is a progressive eye disease that eventually leads the blindness. Needless to say I was terrified. I couldn’t imagine not being able to see the beautiful world or the faces of my nieces and nephews and students. As a member of the local Lions and Lioness Clubs I knew about Leader Dog for the Blind and their “Feed a Puppy with a Dollar a Day” program. Leader Dog For the Blind provides Leader Dogs to visually impaired people. I had always collected my quarters in the collection folders and donated them to Leader Dog at the Lions Convention each year. That fall I talked with my students about Leader Dog for the Blind and we watched a video showcasing Leader Dogs in action. I asked if they would like to feed the puppies by donating quarters in exchange for a Puppy Pencil. They loved the idea and away we went. At the end of the school year we had collected $65.00 to donate. Together we made a difference.

We all have time for the things we choose to do, watch t.v. or stare at our computers, wasting our time on meaningless tasks that benefit no one. We all have talents we can put to use if we would choose to refocus our time to work with friends on projects and activities to benefit others and make a change. Pick up the hammer, bake cookies, direct traffic, set up tables, flip the burgers, solicit donations, or lead a committee. We all have the ability to contribute and work together in the service for others. Being philanthropic with our time and talents shows others that you care about them and want to help change things for the better. I believe that by leading by example adults can help kids learn that they can be the change they want to see in the world.

I believe Melinda encourages us to look within and beyond ourselves and use our time and talents to help others and make changes for those in need. By the way, I am lucky enough to not have macular degeneration and I believe that this lesson was sent to me to help me learn that I should start being the example and show my students that they do have the ability to be philanthropic and change things for those in need. I believe in being philanthropic.

--

--