My Old Dog Yona and My Old Cat Oliver

Old dogs and new tricks

--

Now I don’t typically think of myself as an old dog much less one that learns new tricks. But thinking about portfolio assessment, looking at crates of paper portfolios in my classroom, and hearing my students’ concerns about environmental health, leaves me feeling old and tired and thinking a new trick might throw some new life into me — and portfolio assessment.

I have barked my complaints about doing portfolio assessment correctly if we are going to bring it back. I have whined about folders full of meaningless work. I have growled at the crates that loom along the wall like the cat that dares the dog to come after it. I then look at what I had students contribute to these portfolios and realize how I am guilty, too, of performing the same old trick that I “bitch”ed about on this incredible journey…enough of the canine metaphors.

However, I am about to embark (oops,sorry) upon a new portfolio assessment in this next semester — the digital portfolio.

My focus for portfolio assessment has been mostly its application to my Social Justice class. Students set up a Google site with pages that read “Pivotal pieces,” “Companion Pieces,” and “Footprints.” However, this is the first year for this course, so there has been a lot of trial, error, experimentation, exploration to find what works best. Unfortunately, through this process, I decided to try the digital portfolio well into the second semester.

Swing into the future about 3 months…here I am at home continuing this blog that I started, well…about 3 months ago. It was less than a week after I had my students set up their digital portfolios that the stay-at-home order was implemented. I thought “GREAT! This will be great! We will teach virtually, so what a perfect time to use the digital portfolio!”

I DIDN’T plan for the apathy that would accompany this shut-in. I ASSUMED my students would not lose their excitement for the projects that would soon fill these digital portfolios. I only planned for the digital portfolios that would shape a beautiful evening gala of social justice issues. Neither happened.

The good news? How about TIWI YEAR THREE in 20–21? It will be my year of digital portfolios. I may be the proverbial old dog, but I am never afraid of learning new tricks.

--

--

Michelle C. Lange
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project

Writer, teacher, reader, self-proclaimed humanitarian, animal lover, mom, spouse…THINKER