Rekindling the Spark

Re-examining the write-in to foster writing to learn

Karla Rempe
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
3 min readFeb 20, 2017

--

The fire went out in our classroom a few weeks ago. The students were tired, exhaustion imprinted on their faces. Bags under their eyes, jaws slack, and shoulders hunched as they entered class and slouched into a seat. It was not a pleasant sight. When I prodded and nudged them to take out their notebooks and begin the write-in, I was met with blank stares. Pencils that once blazed across paper were now eking out a few charcoal streaked lines.

I was frustrated. Their perceived apathy was affecting the structure of the class. Up until then these write-ins provided the necessary kindling to fuel our class discussions and, lately, they were only producing a few sparks. A writing activity that was to act as an agent for exploration and discovery and allow students to grapple with new concepts and make meaning was instead yielding very little.

Reflecting on the behaviors of the students and the writing they were producing, an extension of their learning, I knew something had to change. And just as one would rearrange logs on a fire to generate a stronger flame, I needed to alter the structure of my class if I wanted to reignite this idea of writing to learn.

This is what I discovered:

1. Progression of Write-ins: from creative thought to thinking like a historian

The vast majority of my write-ins had been expressive writing prompts. These prompts sparked creative thought, initiated student exploration of a topic, and generated interest. This worked well at the beginning of a unit. However, as the students progressed further and dug deeper into the content, I began to notice that their writing did not reflect a deeper understanding, or the discovery that I hoped their writing would yield.

My own reflection and subsequent discovery led me to realize that I needed to be more intentional with the sequence of the write-ins. Begin a unit with more expressive prompts and, as the students acquire more content, call upon them to begin thinking (and writing) like a historian. I went back to the Thinking Like a Historian framework developed by Nikki Mandell. You may recall that I blogged on this last fall and found that the framework provided the needed structure for students to deepen their understanding of the material. However, I was not consistent with using this framework in my classes. As I worked on sequencing my write-ins, I realized that this framework was absolutely necessary in supporting student thinking and writing.

2. Time for reflection: the write-out

As I shared in my initial post about the power of the write-in, this writing exercise set the tone for the class and allowed students time to ponder and reflect. However, when the fire extinguished a few weeks ago, it was clear that the placement of the write-in, at the beginning of the period, was not always sparking thought or inquiry. Upon re-examination of the write-ins, I realized the reflective writing I desired would not necessarily be produced at the beginning of the period. I teach eighth graders. How could I expect reflection on content immediately upon arrival to class when so much happens during passing period that monopolizes their thoughts? If I wanted students to push their thinking through writing, they would need to write-out at the end of class. As I looked at the sequencing of the write-ins, I have become more intentional about where they are placed in individual class periods. Some are better placed at the beginning of the period in order prime them for the learning about to take place; others are better placed at the end of the period in order to help students process and reflect upon what they have just learned.

It was cold in class when the fire went out a few weeks ago. Just as one has to be strategic about the placement logs on a fire to yield a greater flame, I had to reassess the purpose and placement of the write-in in order to rekindle the spark in my students.

--

--