Teacher Seeks Humanizing Grading System

Danielle Vogel
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
2 min readNov 8, 2019
Photo by niklas_hamann on Unsplash

“Hey Vogel, how much is this quiz worth?”

“One standard.”

Wait a second — No point values? No percentages? Did a record just scratch to a halt in your mind?!

Welcome to my world as a teacher in a standards-based grading system.

I’ll be the first to admit that I thought a move toward standards-based grading practices would solve all of my “tough decisions” that come with grading. I mean, how many times have you thought to yourself, “but what does an ‘A’ on this paper REALLY mean?!”

A quarter into using this grading system, I’m finding out that standards-based grading is not a magical solution. Now, instead of giving a subjective “A” to a student for their entire personal narrative, I’m giving them a subjective “A” on organization, “B” on grammar, and “D” on imagery.

Sure, you can argue that this process is more clear. And to a point, I think it can help students understand that “grades” are simply a reflection of showing various skills.

But it is far from perfect. For example, the standards themselves often group way too many skills into one messy glob. In my last grading foray, I discovered that organization and imagery are in the same standard. So instead of actually breaking down skills for my students, I’m just jamming a bunch of them together in nonsensical ways…Still!

The reality is, standards-based grading is just another imperfect way of categorizing and dehumanizing the complexities of our kids. This is especially true if extensive training and systems aren’t in place to grow teachers’, students’, and parents’ understanding.

So how does one make this system of grading more humanizing? How can standards give students specific feedback they can use to improve and grow? What systems need to be in place for this to be successful?

I have some ideas. Some successful forays into conferring with a student through multiple drafts has left me hopeful. The notion of portfolio grading has me dreaming and scheming. Oh, and a horrendous DOL test has made my brain shut down entirely.

Throughout this year in the GMWP TIWI, I’ll be weighing in on the systems, rubrics, and summative assignments that existed when my curriculum was handed to me; I’ll also share my experiments, and reflect on their effectiveness in humanizing the assessment process.

Because that’s the goal here: To work with our students in ways that uplift them, encourage them, and give them the supports they need to become literate, articulate critical thinkers. Grades shouldn’t be the focus of our work; they should simply be the breadcrumbs we leave along the way.

--

--

Danielle Vogel
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project

Danielle is an English 9 and Journalism teacher. She enjoys books of all kinds, fall in Wisconsin, and Trolli gummy worms. Her cat says hello.