The Author’s Chair

Giving Everyone the Chance to Write.

Katie Crane
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
3 min readOct 28, 2016

--

Reflection. Something we should all do. Really, something we all need to do. But when? Finding time can be so difficult. In the morning we are busy preparing as students are bustling into our classroom. During our prep time we are making never ending lists and creating materials for the upcoming classes. At the end of the day, we are answering questions and packing up what needs to go home. Before bed, we are engrossed with planning the next day. And then there is life in between all of those moments. So when does reflection happen? Do students feel the same way? Are they able to sit back and reflect without expectations hanging over them. Without pressure and anxiety of What do I need to do? What do I have to do? I have decided to make reflection time and writing a priority for my students. To give all of my students the chance to write.

This summer, I sent out a message to my students. Bring a single subject notebook the first day of school. You will be keeping it in class. We will be journaling everyday. Most students came ready with their notebooks. A few didn’t and so I had them write on a piece of a paper to staple in later. Just about everybody was prepared by the second class. Starting Day 1, we started to journal. At the end of the hour, they find their journals, I give them a write out prompt and they write. I really don’t hear groans when I tell them it is time to journal. Everyone grabs their journal and writes. Really. They do. It is really a little unbelievable for me still. They come up, find their journal, since we store them in the classroom, sit down and write. I have told them there are no grammar requirements or restrictions. No vocabulary they must use. The only thing they must do is write. Write in Spanish. I am pleased to see that they are taking this moment to seriously reflect and write. In Spanish. How awesome is that?

At this point in time, I am not sure if they are adhering to the rules because this is new or because they really enjoy having this chance. Neither have I had the time to go in and read the 7 entries they have already written. But part of me does not want to read their entries (yet?). I feel that it would be a violation to enter their reflections without them knowing. I do need to see that they are writing in Spanish and making good faith attempts to write. But at this time, I don’t feel the need to read every word they are writing. I am not going to grade the content. I am not going to grade their grammar. I am not going to critique them. This is their chance to reflect, reach out, experience and dream. In Spanish.

One week later . . . We did it! We completed the last step of the author’s chair. Today, students were invited to come up and read from their journal for the class. 1st period . . . crickets and so I had them read in their small “familia” groups. Some were more willing than others. 2nd period . . . we waited a minute and no movement, so again, we read with small familias. BUT each group did read! Final period of the day . . . 3 volunteers! Whooo hooo! Thanks to cross discipline connection, a few girls in class suddenly became very excited. “La silla del autor!” they shouted. “Cómo la clase de inglés.” With joy, 3 students read to us today and everyone listened and applauded. Day 2 — same course, different students and the results brought in even more excitement. The golden moment was when a very shy native Spanish speaker had a spark in an eye. This student has not said more than a handful of words so far this year. Not only did this student show increased interest, she was on the edge of her seat ready to jump out. She volunteered with pride and read aloud to the class with a smile. Great way to end the day!

--

--

Katie Crane
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project

Speak, Write, Listen, Read . . . now do it in another language. That is what we do in our classroom.