The Case of the Unfinished Graphic Novels

Amy Sheley
GMWP: Greater Madison Writing Project
3 min readAug 17, 2017

Flora is a twelve-year-old looking for a superhero to help her with the problem of her divorced parents. She finds answers in an injured squirrel. In the process of saving this amazing friend from her archnemesis (aka Mom), she finds friendship in some odd neighbors, and understand the love of her parents. Flora and Ulysses, by Kate DiCamillo,is a graphic novel I share with my 6th graders each year. It has become the annual favorite of most of my students.

We have so much fun with it, I have been looking for a graphic novel to teach with my 7th and 8th graders as well, to expand the genres of reading we do.

Question 1: I am seeking titles and topics of graphic novels to use with middle level students. (Your ideas posted in the comment space below is most appreciated!) So far in my inquiry that has been the fun part. There so many titles out there in this genre now since it is wildly popular (even at high school and college levels), and I love how they offer a quick but unique read with different layers of understanding.

Reading this delightful book is my spark, but here is my real sticking point —

Question 2: How can I get quality graphic “novellas” from my students?

After reading the book and lots of discussion about superheros and comic book (Graphic novel) qualities, I model how to begin their own. I have a started story about an easy-to-draw protagonist, named Eggbert Yolk (a loveable egg), in a refrigeratorland caper. Now, I am usually able to elicit inspired writing from my students with a little modeling, brainstorming, and a dose of enthusiasm. But this project has fallen flat after a few days. (Holy Unanticipated Occurrences!)

The kids complaints are these:

I can’t draw

This takes too long

My story isn’t going anywhere

I wish I could find some more short model texts and guidance for teaching this with impatient young authors.

I have yet to design a plan that is different than what I have been doing. Do you have any ideas or resources that have worked for you? (Really, I am asking you….yes, you….Thank you!)

Perhaps my guiding question should be simpler.

Question 3: How can reading graphic novels lead to/guide good writing?

My action plan this year is to find a graphic novel for each of my 7th and 8th grade classes, then to create units around these, and finally to produce great pieces of writing, perhaps graphic novellas, that we can enjoy and hang our hats on (er, on which to hang our hats). I am looking for 100% self-satisfying (meaning each student), hallway worthy results.

P.S. Of course, it would be really useful to hit a few standards along the way, so everybody (meaning parents and administrators) is happy.

--

--