The Phenomenon of Fragmentation of Consciousness (Gnosis, or the Heart of an Angel. Part one. Chapter 24)

Imma
Gnostic Teachings of Archangel Michael
2 min readApr 21, 2024

The Phenomenon of Fragmentation of Consciousness

Image by Copilot

At this juncture, I entered a phase where, against all odds, whether due to my mental stress, the raw vegan diet, or the influence of my spiritual guides, I noticed a marked enhancement in my cognitive capabilities. My memory seemed sharper, learning new material became easier, and my thought processes quickened. I was able to read even the most complex books swiftly and commit each page to memory almost photographically.

A peculiar incident occurred to me at work one day:

Our institute boasted a beautiful veranda. We, the employees, often found solace on this veranda, taking coffee breaks and resting our weary eyes. On one such occasion, when I found myself alone in the office, I decided to retreat to the veranda to rest my eyes after hours spent squinting at the computer screen. I sat down on the bench, losing myself in the symphony of nature’s sounds. The white tiles of the floor gleamed brilliantly, reflecting the sunlight. A fly lazily traversed the floor-tiles, and without conscious thought, I found my gaze trailing its movements while I idly sipped my tea.

Suddenly, to my surprise, I felt myself inadvertently ‘enter’ the consciousness of this insect. The phenomenon unfolded spontaneously. I was taken aback to realize that I had started seeing through the fly’s eyes, sensing what it was experiencing. Simultaneously, I retained a clear perception of my own self and the surrounding world, just as before. It was as if my consciousness had split into two — one part remained within my body, while the other migrated into the body of the fly. The first sensation I perceived was that the fly lacked any conception of ‘self-awareness.’ Drawn to the sunlight, ‘as the fly,’ I felt myself walking towards the sunlit part of the floor. I even derived some peculiar pleasure from the movement of my insect legs. That realization jolted me, and I swiftly pulled back, extricating myself from the body of the fly.

Stunned, I returned to the office, my mind whirring with a single question:

  • What just happened?

(The book is translated from Georgian)

--

--