Soumya Sankar Bose

Oitenta Mundos
Goa Photo 2015
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2015

Soumya Sankar Bose is an independent photographer, born and brought up in Midnapore. After completing his Engineering degree, he decided to go to Pathshala few years back. But after one and half years Soumya came back to India and has started his work formed on his own place and own people.

Soumya Sankar Bose, Jatra, 2013-ongoing

In this interview he told us how was his first contact with a camera, his first works, his interest for “disappearing art and people” and how he see “the other” present in the series Jatra, he is going to present on Goa Photo 2015.

[GOA PHOTO] How did you start in photography?

[SOUMYA] My first camera was a small Kodak KB10, gifted by my mom in a festival when I was just 11. But I took photography seriously when I went to Pathshala after my graduation in Engineering.

[GOA PHOTO] Can you tell us a little bit of your career in photography?

[SOUMYA] I had started my photography career with Pathshala and after one and half years I came back to my place and have started to work on “Spiritual Doctor” “Jartra” and “Dream”. In 2014 Scroll offered me to do a project on Indian Election for Instagram. It was a different experience for me because I am not a direct photojournalist though they liked my approach of work.

Soumya Sankar Bose, Indian General Election, 2014

[GOA PHOTO] What kind of photography you do? Can you define it?

[SOUMYA] Well, mainly documentary, but I love to think my work in a more complex way rather than straightforward documentation.…

[GOA PHOTO] In your bio, it’s said that you “have an intense interest for disappearing art and people”. Can you explain us more about it? Have you done other works (besides Jatra) based on these concepts?

[SOUMYA] Yes, from my childhood I am afraid of losing things, people even time, which has actually forced me to capture my own people and their thoughts. Except Jatra I am working on another project where I am documenting the rural spiritual doctors.

Soumya Sankar Bose, Spiritual Doctor, Ongoing.

[GOA PHOTO] About the work “Jatra” how did you get this idea, and how was the photographic process?

[SOUMYA] I had started this project when I got to know about the decile of Jatra from my uncle who was a Jatra artist, now he is a factory worker. I have been doing this work since 2013, besides clicking their photo I am also archiving their old (50s and 60s) photographs, letters, paper cutting and diaries. And I have a plan to publish a book “Jatra” by 2016.

[GOA PHOTO] So far where have you presented this work? How was the audience feedback? And what do you expect from the Goa’s audience?

[SOUMYA] Goa Photo is the first international platform where I am presenting my work. The work was published in many magazines like Galli, Ain’t bad, Better photography, All about Photo, Carte Blanche, Tasveer Journal etc. and it was received quiet well by the viewers. I think Goa audience has no idea about Jarta but I hope they will understand the untold story of Jatra artistes and the form.

Soumya Sankar Bose, Jatra, 2013-ongoing

[GOA PHOTO] The theme of Goa Photo’s first edition is “ The Other”, so can you tell us how is “the other” present in the series you are going to present there?

[SOUMYA] We generally respect, enjoy and experience our present and tend to forget the inspiration to our present. Jatra an old form of entertainment had ruled people’s heart for years…but now it has become a forgotten art.

No more it is considered an art, which is respected, enjoyed & experienced. It is no more ours…it has become others.

[GOA PHOTO] As an artist, beyond the role of promoting photographers works, what do you think is the importance of a festival?

[SOUMYA] Well for me festivals always help us to make direct contact with photographers, Critics and photo-lovers. Where you can learn about different journeys behind different stories.

[GOA PHOTO] Have you ever been in Goa? If not what you expect to see? Are you planning to do some photography work there?

[SOUMYA] I have never been in Goa, I am expecting to meet new people and get to see their work. I am not planning to do any photography work in Goa because I love to work at my own place and with my own people.

Originally published at goaphoto.tumblr.com.

--

--