Mabule Junior Lekete
God’s Success Formula
3 min readOct 30, 2023

--

The LORD is MY light: A Reflection on Psalm 27:1a

Psalm 27:1a is a powerful declaration of faith and trust in God. It says, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?”

This verse reveals the confidence and security that the psalmist has in God, who is his source of illumination, deliverance, and protection.

Light is a common metaphor for God in the Bible. It signifies His presence, His glory, His wisdom, His guidance, and His holiness. God is the creator of light, and He dwells in unapproachable light.

He is also the one who gives light to His people, both physically and spiritually. He said to Israel, “I am the LORD your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.”

He also said to them, “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth.”

As Christians, we also need the light that comes from God to flood our lives. In the darkness of life, we need His guiding light to light our way.

We live in a world that is full of sin, evil, suffering, and confusion. We face many challenges, trials, temptations, and fears.

We often feel lost, hopeless, and helpless. But God has not left us alone in the dark. He has sent His Son Jesus Christ to be the light of the world. Jesus said, “I am the light of the world.

Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” He also said, “I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness.”

Jesus is the true light that gives life to everyone. He is the fulfillment of God’s promise to send a Messiah who would be a light for the nations.

He is the one who died on the cross for our sins and rose again from the dead. He is the one who forgives us, saves us, heals us, and transforms us.

He is the one who gives us hope, joy, peace, and love. He is the one who empowers us by His Spirit to live as children of light. He is the one who will come again to bring us into His eternal kingdom of light.

Therefore, let us live and walk in His light and never give darkness a foothold. Let us follow His example and His commands.

Let us shine His light to others by our words and deeds. Let us trust Him in every situation and circumstance.

Let us remember that He is always with us and for us. Let us say with the psalmist, “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?”

References: : Psalm 27:1a (NIV) : 1 Timothy 6:16 (NIV) : Isaiah 48:17 (NIV) : Isaiah 42:16 (NIV) : John 8:12 (NIV) : John 8:12 (NIV) : John 12:46 (NIV) : John 1:9 (NIV) : Isaiah 49:6 (NIV) : Ephesians 5:8 (NIV) : Revelation 21:23-24 (NIV)

--

--

Mabule Junior Lekete
God’s Success Formula

We need a paradigm shift in society 🥁 We deal with broken systems everywhere I help you envision change. Everyday I bring you relavant conversation, message or