Kyllee’s Kidney

A GoFundMe Studios Original Production

GoFundMe
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2018

--

When she was a teenager, Kyllee Wills’s uncle was diagnosed with late-stage cancer. The doctors said that his only hope would be a bone marrow transplant. Unfortunately, that transplant never came, and her uncle passed away. On that day, Kyllee pledged to become an organ donor and save another family that heartache. This past March, she got the news. There was a 14-year-old boy with kidney failure. And Kyllee could save his life.

At the end of 2017, Kylee signed up to become a kidney donor. She was matched with a man named Mark and quickly began extensive testing to find out if she would be a good fit. But Kyllee learned that because she was on the smaller side, her kidney might be better for someone younger. So the doctors suggested a paired exchange: In return for donating her kidney to someone else, they would secure Mark a perfect match as well.

In March, Kyllee finally learned that there was a 14-year-old boy with kidney failure who was her perfect match. There was only one problem: Kyllee’s insurance would only pay for the procedure but none of the associated costs.

So Kyllee started a GoFundMe to help her get to the hospital. After sharing the story of her donation journey, Kyllee was able to raise over $9,000—enough to cover her travel to the hospital, lodging, and meals for herself and a friend who would care for her during her recovery. She donated the extra money to a local organization that sends kids suffering from kidney disease to camp.

In May, Kyllee finally made her way to the hospital. Before her surgery, she wrote a letter to her kidney recipient, a boy she may never meet:

To my recipient,

You don’t know me, so allow me to introduce myself. My name is Kyllee Wills, I live in Crawfordsville, Indiana, and I am 31 years old. I am really close to my family. My parents have been together since they were 15, and I have two younger brothers, Tanner and Dakota. I also have two kids. I work as a 911 dispatcher. It gives me a chance to save someone every day.

All I know about you is that you are a 14-year-old boy who needs a kidney. When I was 16, I lost my uncle to cancer. By the time the doctors found out, chemo and radiation really couldn’t help. He needed a bone marrow transplant. I vowed that someday I would help someone and save the family the completely devastating heartbreak that I’ve had since my uncle passed away. I’ve waited every day for years to get that chance.

Then, you entered my world. I think about your family. I’m sure this has been a tough road for you all, but I’m sure that it’s brought you all closer together. Mainly, I think about your mom. I can’t imagine what it’s like to watch your child be sick and in pain. I’m glad to be giving her more time with you.

My hope is that your life is full of passion, that you find something that moves you and you never let it go. I hope you live your life to the fullest.

Recipient, there are no strings attached. Just know this: You are giving me a chance to make my vow come true, and I thank you for letting me donate to you.

Much love and prayers,

Kyllee

The procedure was a success. And Kyllee has recovered quickly and was back at work in less than a month.

Kyllee’s kidney donation went smoothly. Now she continues to raise money for follow-up appointments during her recovery, and she plans to donate any additional donations to kidney disease research.

Most of all, Kyllee hopes that her story inspires others to give back and spread kindness: “I may not be able to save the world, but I can help save one life and hope this inspires others to do the same. Thank you all!”

Learn how you can support Kyllee’s recovery.

Special thanks to Kyllee and the Wills family.

--

--