The Heart of Harvard Square

How a college student changed the life of a community member in need—with the help of the internet.

GoFundMe
GoFundMe Stories
3 min readAug 22, 2017

--

A guest post by George Torres.

Left: a photo snapped by George when he first met James. Right: James with his new wheelchair.

Massachusetts Avenue is the busy street in Cambridge, Massachusetts that separates Harvard Square from Harvard University. Every morning on the hour, it sees a rush of students hurrying to class and a steady flow of locals huffing to and from. It’s rare to stop when walking along Mass Ave., as the current of people almost carries you to your next destination. One spring afternoon, however, I stopped and met James.

I had seen him there before but this was the first time I stopped to greet to him.

I was on my way from class and, as I crossed Mass Ave., I saw James on the sidewalk in the middle of the Square in a wheelchair. He didn’t have a cardboard sign, but I knew he was in need. He was missing a leg and could barely sit up straight. I had seen him there before but this was the first time I stopped to greet him. As I tried to give him some money, he shook his head and motioned to me that he needed a pen and paper. He was barely able to speak due to a speech impairment, but I could tell he was trying to communicate something to me. I handed him a pencil and notepad on which he wrote the following:

“Need a donation for an electric wheelchair, and the state only pays so much. Can we get some way I can get funds […] for a new wheelchair? Cause I have no idea [how] to ask for the large amount of cash for a new wheelchair. Durable. Pretty please!”

I knew the internet could help. So I took James’s picture and told him I would post it online. He thanked me with an eager handshake and a tear in his eye. Ten minutes later, as I was setting up the GoFundMe campaign, I never expected the amount of support that would pour in over the next 24 hours. By morning, the campaign surpassed the initial goal by almost twofold, and by later that day, it broke $2,000 — but this was just the beginning.

I knew the internet could help. So I took James’s picture and told him I would post it online.

As word spread outside my circles, the campaign found significant traction among residents of the greater Cambridge area and Boston. Support from local business owners and the Harvard Square Business Association compounded this campaign’s reach even more, bringing it to over $10,000 within a week. Message upon message came to me from people who knew James and were overjoyed to help him. Every time I visited James in person, it seemed like every other passerby on the street knew him. It was clear to me that James, in more ways than one, really did sit at the heart of Harvard Square.

Contrary to all of my expectations, in under two weeks we had raised enough money for an electric wheelchair that met James’s needs. More than that, we had lifted his spirits and showed him that he wasn’t invisible and he wasn’t unheard. What I learned, and what I hope others take away from this story, is how important and impactful it is to stop and notice those in need who are unable to speak for themselves.

Special thanks to George for all his generosity.

Feeling inspired? Start your own GoFundMe here.

--

--