Locks in lockdown

Jane Milne
Going Grey (Again)
Published in
3 min readMay 15, 2020

Well hello. It’s been a while since I last checked in here, but that doesn’t mean I’ve been away dying my hair and giving up on my ‘going grey’ journey. Far from it, as you can see…

You wouldn’t know it from the above photos, but there’s still a fair bit of dye left, even though it’s now over a year since I last coloured my hair. How much of the dye or how much of my natural hair colour you can see really depends on how I’m wearing it and what kind of light I’m standing under.

When I wear my hair pulled back with a bobble (most days since the start of lockdown), I’m all silver and grey on top with an auburn bird’s nest sitting perched on the back of my head. When I take the bobble out, it’s a shaggy multi-coloured mop (which hasn’t been straightened since the start of lockdown)(in fact, has hardly been washed since the start of lockdown…!).

I could definitely do with a trim but I’m not missing going to the hairdresser’s. Not in the same way many are at the moment.

Some of my friends are desperate to get a hair cut. Some are desperate to get their roots done. Some are taking radical steps, such as shaving the whole lot off or using a home dye kit for the first time.

Some hairdressers are posting ‘how to do it at home’ videos, some are dropping dye mixtures off to their clients’ doorsteps, and some are using Zoom to give step-by-step instructions to clients as they nervously angle the kitchen scissors across their fringe.

I, on the other hand, am quite enjoying this aspect of lockdown. I don’t mean I’m happy that the hairdressers can’t work, of course not, I just mean I quite like that we’re all part of the same uncoiffured gang, together. I’m usually out on a bit of a limb with that…

Of course, this uncoiffured gang membership won’t last. As soon as the restrictions are lifted there’ll be long and winding queues outside the hairdressers’ and barbers’ salons.

Though, I do wonder how many people will feel more confident about giving the ‘going grey’ journey a try, now that they’ve had an enforced head start!

I’ll definitely be quite happy to wait my turn for my trim, give way in the queue to everyone else until my lovely hairdresser has cleared her backlog.

Which might very well be this time next year…

--

--