The Pilot of the Month: Meet Linus!

Temi Oyetayo
gokadanigeria
Published in
2 min readNov 10, 2020
Offolee Linus

It is always important to celebrate our pilots who deliver come rain or shine. They spend hours on the road making sure that all parcels are delivered on time.

Meet Linus, one of our GPilots who has been with us since we started. Linus is the pilot of the month and we had a sit down with him where he gave us a brief background of what life was like before he joined Gokada and how being selected as Pilot of the month was for him.

Q: When did you join Gokada?

A: I joined Gokada in 2018 and ever since I joined, things have been different in my financial life.

Q: How did you find out about Gokada?

A: They were sharing flyers back then and I decided to give it a try

Q: What were you doing before you joined?

A: I was a street Okada man before, I was also a site supervisor but everything was low then, money was not coming in but since I joined, I have seen income every day. There is no day I go out that I don’t come back with money. Even during the lockdown, I was making money because they allowed riders to deliver items. My family members did not really feel it.

Q: What is it like being a pilot?

A: I enjoy working with Gokada. Since I joined in 2018, I haven’t regretted it. I love the inclusive culture that our late CEO, Fahim created. I think that’s the one thing I still feel sad about. His death. He was a great employer and I am happy with what he started.

Q: How do you feel about being the pilot of the month?

A: To be very honest when I was told, I was very surprised because I am amongst the oldest in age. I am currently 53 years old and there are a lot of younger pilots who are definitely stronger than me. I am happy but also shocked.

It is the first time that Linus is selected as the Pilot of the month, but as far as we are concerned, he will continue to develop and grow with us. Linus’ age doesn’t matter, what matters is his commitment to our customers that ensures that deliveries are made efficiently, quickly, and safely.

With the arrival of our on-demand delivery of food- GShop and the Gokada Business platform, we are increasing the size of our fleet, so we can generate more job opportunities and also deliver more easily to our customers. If you want to be your own boss like Linus, apply here.

You can read more on our recently launched GShop and our all-new Gokada Hub.

--

--