Delight is the middle name of DesignUP 2019

Bhavna Nagpal
Go-MMT Design
Published in
4 min readJan 16, 2020

A first-timer’s perspective on a multi-starrer design conference

Great design conferences are tough to get invited to. Trust me when I say that because I have tried and bitten the dust more than once! No doubt, DesignUP is one event that various designers (especially in Asia) look forward to every year. They all want to be here! If not, then they follow event updates closely.

Up until last year, I could not attend the conference as I was away from all the action in Guwahati. I had seen DesignUP’s popularity on social media, and I was looking forward to attending it someday! Early this year, I joined MakeMyTrip and moved to Bangalore. Working alongside the man who made it all happen was a total bonus. Jaydeep (fondly known as Jay) is the co-founder of DesignUp, Asia’s premier conference for design in tech. So, when Jay (JDallcaps) asked for volunteers for organizing the event, I jumped at the chance. I was happy that I could be a little part of something so great.

Yes, I am still trying to find my genie to thank!

DesignUP team while packing the goodie bags
DesignUP team (most members & volunteers) packing goodie bags

The weekend before the event, we collectively packed some 1200 goodie bags. Or it might be even more than that! It was then that I truly realised the magnitude of the conference. Sometimes one might wonder if it is as easy as getting a few halls, a dozen orators, publicising it in media, and you’ll have a conference.

But, newsflash …nope!

That’s not it! Not even close.

Mega design events that seem so smooth and well-planned need ‘major generals’ to plan and an ‘army’ to execute. You realize how complex these events are, and how much consideration goes into planning every detail, once you are a part of this army.

But here’s a secret…

Even though the team accomplished a lot of work, it did not feel like stress is in the air. Everybody was enjoying working on an event they dearly loved.

Mega design events that seem so smooth and well-planned need ‘major generals’ to plan and an ‘army’ to execute.

That’s me having a conversation with Astha (fellow volunteer), probably about my excitement for the conference

The event was on the 15th -16th of November. I was thrilled to attend! I was aware of the event agenda and was looking forward to some of the talks. I was thrilled I’d be witnessing the famous Drum Jam!🥁🥁. But, I missed it because I had my volunteering duty at the registration desk. Probably the ‘only’ drawback of being a volunteer! No worries, last week I took an oath to attend the jam, next year. :)

But I did get to view the energetic videos and a few pictures. Here are some that I picked →

People in the audience enjoying Drum Jam at the start of the event

For a volunteer, work is normally more at the start of the event. A lot of things are happening in parallel. Most of the first-timers (including me) feel a bit overwhelmed. But, as the event progressed, I settled into a rhythm, and it was smoother. As the sessions progressed, we could feel how every tiny step during the preparation, truly counts.

Something else that DesignUP is (unintendedly) famous for is — Desserts! 🧁🍩🍰 I do not indulge usually, but I was looking forward to a cheat day. You bet, I was delighted!

A conference without talks and sessions is incomplete. DesignUP managed to not only have sessions and panels, but it also went above and beyond in delivering quality content. The diversity in topics was commendable. The conversation shifted from user experience to design at large. Beyond the sessions, I was not expecting I’ll be that entertained. Hats off to Katja Forbes for being an entertainer and engaging everyone in the room.

The cherry on top was listening to designers talk beyond design, and focus on human connections and emotions.

Yes, I am talking about Alysha Naples. I didn’t think I’ll be left feeling emotional and inspired, the way I did. It was not only her but, several speakers who left me in awe of what they shared.

Alysha Naples during her keynote at DesignUP

DesignUP has gone above and beyond, to showcase the potential of why design matters. It’ll be exciting to see what happens next November!

When I think back it amazes me how I had a little role in this event that’s nothing short of a festival. It makes me smile. Every single time…

A big shoutout to everyone in the DesignUP team, and the @designers-of-MMT that made it possible for me to get such an opportunity!

--

--