Lost & Found in Auckland

Sarah LJ
Gone Nomad
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2016

While walking home from the Auckland Zoo, I noticed a shiny band lying in the roadway. After checking to make sure no cars or trams were approaching (since I am loath to lose my head over my obsession for collecting), I picked it up. Much to my surprise it was a golden bangle inlayed with stones on one side. One stone was missing and the metal was rough in a few places since it had been run over by cars. I was able to see that there was a hallmark stamp of 750, which means it is 18k gold. How exciting! Would someone put cubic zircons in gold? I took it to a jeweler to see if the stones were real. The jeweler said they were probably real and had I been to the police yet to report the lost property? So the next stop on my Auckland adventure of discovery:

The policeman who took the bracelet from me was surprised that I was turning it in and noted that things like this are rarely claimed. So I left my name and contact information — perhaps I will get to keep it after the three month waiting period has passed. I’m imagining all sorts of fun jewelry/art designs that the bracelet could be turned into!

Update January 2017: I just learned that a common strategy NZ burglars use is to steal jewelry, damage it, then take it in to a jeweler and say they found it damaged. No wonder the jeweler treated me with some distain and didn’t even touch the bracelet! He must have thought I had perpetrated a crime instead of truly finding a treasure on the ground.

Update March 2017: No one claimed the bracelet, so now I am the official owner. I hope to make something beautiful with the gold!

And now for a mystery …

Can you identify the object in the photos below? It has a bent bamboo cane top affixed to a steel rod and the bottom nub can be screwed off. Bought four for one dollar at a charity shop in Rotorua and can’t figure it out!

--

--