The Hunter

Sarah LJ
Gone Nomad
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2016

I awaken in the predawn hours. My eyes burn from an unfulfilled sleep quota and my insides churn in a mighty rage.

This is the night for a hunt.

The hunt commences in this very room, for the quarry is near. I try many tactics to bait him.

I lie in bed and modulate my breath to lure him near, pretending I am somnolent prey, but my chestnut eyes are open. I track his movements with my eyes. I can best see his grey shadow stark on the white wall when he is resting. I track his movements with my ears. I have the hearing of a rabbit. No vibration escapes my notice.

When I fail to draw blood from this prone position, I arise to hunt on my feet. I stand at the mirror, surveying the hunting ground, tracking my opponent to the east and to the west.

I attempt to summon him and slaughter him by flicking a red cloth. I swirl the cloth in front of my chest, behind my head, about my strong legs. But my prey dances with ease out of the mortal danger of my grasp, my flailing cloth, my slowly clasping hands.

He must think I am applauding his performance. I am not applauding.

This hunt has become a battle. My enemy refuses to call a truce or quit the field. I take refuge behind the tall blue curtains. Only my head emerges from the narrow opening and I search for an opportunity to gain an advantage. My enemy’s distant acrobatics draws a string of curses from my normally chaste tongue.

Oh! He breaks through my armor of drapery. He is next to me, attacking! I swat and I dodge and I use all my ninja skills in this confined combat space.

But alas, I am bitten, bloodied, heart sore. I have sixty-six battle wounds. I limp back to bed, a hunter consumed by his prey.

Tomorrow, I will hunt again. Tomorrow, I will be victorious.

Il Cacciatore

Giaccio insonne nelle ore prima dell’alba. I miei occhi bruciano per la mancanza di sonno e le mie interiora si struggono in una rabbia possente.

È la notte ideale per una caccia.

La caccia comincia in questa stessa stanza, poichè la preda è vicina. Provo molte tattiche per ingannarla.

Giaccio nel letto e regolo il mio respiro, per farla avvicinare fingendomi una preda sonnolenta, ma i mie occhi castani stanno spalancati. Con gli occhi seguo i suoi movimenti. Posso vedere la sua ombra grigia stagliarsi netta sul muro bianco mentre riposa. Con le mie orecchie seguo i suoi movimenti. Ho l’udito di un coniglio. Nessuna vibrazione sfugge alla mia attenzione.

Quando fallisco nel trarre sangue da posizione supina, mi alzo a cacciare in piedi. Sono accanto allo specchio, sorvegliando il terreno di caccia, seguendo il mio avversario da est ad ovest.

Cerco di richiamare la sua attenzione e per ucciderla sventolando un indumento rosso, di fronte a me e dietro la testa, intorno alle mie forti gambe. Ma la mia preda danza con facilità al di fuori del pericolo mortale della mia presa, del mio inutile indumento, delle mie mani che lentamente si chiudono invano.

Penso che debba credere che io stia applaudendo la sua performance. Non sto applaudendo.

Questa caccia è diventata una battaglia. Il mio nemico rifiuta sia l’armistizio che di abbandonare il campo. Mi rifugio dietro le alte tende blu. Soltanto la mia testa emerge da quella stretta apertura mentre cerco l’opportunità di prevalere. Le distanti acrobazie della mia nemesi traggono una serie di male parole dalla mia bocca normalmente casta.

Oh! Esso irrompe e attraversa la mia armatura di stoffa. Lei è accanto a me, mi sta attaccando! Colpisco ed evito e uso le tutte le mie abilità ninja in questo combattimento corpo a corpo.

Ma purtroppo, sono punto, insanguinato, e con il cuore dolorante. Ho sessantasei ferite di guerra. Mi trascino a letto, un cacciatore consumato dalla sua preda.

Domani, caccerò ancora. Domani, sarò vittorioso.

Many thanks to Roby in Bergamo for her wonderful translation skills and the little zanzara who inspired this epic.

--

--