Capitol Hill terrorized by bomb threat

Ben Turner
Gonzo Politics
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2021

August 20, 2021

My neighborhood was terrorized with a bomb threat yesterday.

I live close to the US Capitol building in DC. Yesterday a man who believed Trump was the rightful president and that he was conducting a political “revolution” to force Biden’s resignation caused the evacuation of the Capitol, the Supreme Court, the Library of Congress and the surrounding houses when he parked out front of the Capitol with explosives in his truck. Luckily his would-be bomb was not operational, and he surrendered peacefully to the police.

This is the second time this year the Capitol has been under siege from right-wing domestic terrorism.

While the bomb threat was ongoing, a sitting Republican member of Congress put out a statement sympathetic to the would-be bomber. Was this member of Congress punished by his party? Hell no. Several Republican congresspeople and Donald Trump have openly celebrated the people who attacked the Capitol on January 6.

I am grateful to the brave Capitol and DC Police. I’m tired of my neighborhood being terrorized. More important than my own safety, I worry for the safety of our country. It seems to be the Republican Party platform to cause and support domestic terrorism now. People might want to pay attention to that.

--

--