Blank Canvas A World of Endless Possibilities

If I Could Paint 2024 a Color, What Would It Be?

Hamza
Good Deal
3 min readJul 28, 2024

--

Just a few hours before the deadline, I finished and submitted my first short story. It was around this time that I realized that I wanted to become a writer and improve my writing skills. There was more to me than just my love of drawing.

I quickly made contact with many other creative people and the feeling of community was indescribable. However, one can imagine the relationship between the two partners as an abstract piece with bright colors and intertwining lines that together create a beautiful composition.

Unfortunately, I no longer had the motivation to write. Despite the feedback and support I’ve received over the years, I couldn’t find the inspiration I needed to write. My images were monochrome with different shades of gray.

I am still a member of several Facebook audio groups and the work of other authors such as Cathy, Mike, Judy, Babs and Marian continue to inspire me. I celebrated Lena’s first place at the MediumAwards because her lyrics are captivating and moving. Tiffany Gordon’s poems never cease to amaze me. His beautiful wordplay always makes me smile or touches my heart. I am amazed at their incredible work ethic in publishing their stories.

Every now and then I would log into Medium and read the top stories or challenge the winners, but I couldn’t manage to produce anything worth reading. My health has deteriorated, making it difficult to find the energy and inspiration to write. There were days when my eyelids hung like lead weights and my bones ached from exhaustion. My mind was foggy and I felt like a failure. I let go of some of the things that defined me.

Even though I struggled with writing last year, I am determined to make 2024 different. I recently re-registered as a Medium member and posted some stories. My main goal is to write and participate in as many challenges as possible, even if just once a month to avoid burnout. It would be great to win the challenge, but the motivation to take part is very high. Challenges also make me think outside the box. They teach me different writing styles and introduce me to different genres.

I want to write novels again and improve my “show, don’t tell” skills. I want to expand my writing beyond poems and short stories. The art scene really piqued my interest. I finished the first draft of my novel a few years ago and would like to start editing again.

I plan to interact with other creatives soon as I believe in the power of collaboration. If I want others to read my work, I must be willing to do the same for them. I started reading a few stories a week until it became a daily habit. I believe that I am my best self when I feel good. To better support my colleagues, I need to first focus on taking care of myself. I thank those who continue to read my work.

My motto for 2024 is to stay active and do everything my body allows me to do. I miss writing and look forward to making it a part of my life again. If I had to describe the influences on the Medium through this year’s palette, it would primarily be the bright colors. I want it to be eye-catching and attractive to attract attention and evoke a sense of emotion in anyone who encounters it.

--

--