photo by Andrey Larin

User experience beyond the browser, and the $176.56 bug

Tom Gooden
Good Dog
2 min readJun 3, 2016

--

Recently I was booking a flight for our family on JetBlue.com. Since flight prices fluctuate on every search, it’s critical to lock a fare the instant you see it.

So, I found a great fare for SFO to BOS, and was setting up the passenger details. However, after I auto-filled the first passenger’s name, I hit some turbulance. It was impossible to edit the birth month.

You can’t do that on this broswer.

Although I tried my usual bag of tricks, nothing worked. The field was un-editable. Eventually I gave up and switched to a different browser, but the exact same flight was now $176.56 USD more expensive. It was still a decent deal, and I booked away.

After I finished, curiosity got the best of me so I wanted to recreate the bug to share with @jetblue support team. The team was amazing, they dug into the issue, and based on the info they discovered, refunded the difference.

Overall, this was just an annoying browser bug, but the Jet Blue exteded their user experience via Twitter and fixed a frustrating issue by going above and beyond the browser.

--

--

Tom Gooden
Good Dog

Principal and Creative Director of Good Dog Design | @gooddog