The Last Thing I Want To Think About Is A Vacation! I Just Lost The Love Of My Life.

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2018
photo by Holeysocksart on pixabay

When have you last taken a vacation? I mean a real vacation. Leaving everything behind. Taking time to just be and step away from grieving.

Would you not like to take a time out from your grief, from feeling overwhelmed and sad?

You might think that it wouldn’t be right to look after yourself and invest in a day, weekend or even a week at the beach, at a river, reading on a mountain hill, or painting plain air in a public garden.

When I grieve I often neglect the things that can help balance my mood, that uplift my spirit, and help me heal.

I ask myself:

What is the most enjoyable thing I liked to do by myself before my loved one died?

If you did everything together and my prompt makes you even more heartbroken, take pen and paper and write all the things down that you enjoyed doing together.

Perhaps these memories trigger tears but I hope that they also bring a smile to your lips thinking of all the adventures you shared.

I know can imagine that it is not easy but perhaps there is an activity that would not be too painful to take on again on your own.

If you still can’t think of anything have a look at your childhood. What was it that you did a lot and that made you smile?

It could be a small thing like jumping into a puddle. (smile)

Today, I challenge you to take a time out.

Remember that you make your own rules.

You can share your self-care time with a friend or family member.

It can be an hour long or a whole week. Just do it.

Let me know how it worked for you.

Take good care of yourself,

Jacqueline

Want a little more help navigating your unique grieving process? Sign up for the Healing Notes that will come your way every second Sunday by email. Sign up for it right here.

Originally published at www.healingforgrievinghearts.com.

--

--

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief

Navigating your grief isn’t easy. Healing happens one image at a time. Art Therapist and Creative Grief Coach. healingforgrievinghearts.com