Will I Ever Stop Crying?

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief
Published in
2 min readApr 3, 2018
You can follow Jacqueline Steudler’s art on Instagram

This is a question some of my clients ask when they first get in touch with me. Another one is:

Is it normal to cry so much?

My answer is a clear ‘Yes’ to both questions.

When you lose someone or are going through any other challenging time in life your inner emotions can be in turmoil and some days you might feel like on an emotional roller-coaster.

Those emotions are stressful.

Your body will find a way to release the pressure.

Crying is a good thing. It is natural. It is a release for your emotions and helps you to find your inner balance again.

Crying is not a weakness.

It is a human response to sorrow, pain, anger, shame, grief, despair, sadness and even joy.

I have been brought up with the notion that it was okay to cry and show feelings in a constructive manner.

My spouse on the other hand had an upbringing where tears were looked at as weakness. He still has a hard time when I tear up but I won’t stop showing my emotions. I know that it wouldn’t be healthy if I would put a lid on them.

When will I stop crying?

Like I said above the tears are a sign of emotions that need to be acknowledged.

When you feel the tears coming, ask yourself: What do I feel right now?

It might be hard to have an answer right away. Take your time and let the tears flow.

Over time your soul and heart will open up and give you answers.

Do you need to talk to someone outside your family that understands the stream of tears? Send me a message, I am here for you.

Want a little more help navigating your unique grieving process? Sign up for the Healing Notes that will come your way every second Sunday by email. Sign up for it right here.

Originally published at www.healingforgrievinghearts.com.

--

--

Jacqueline Steudler
Good Grief

Navigating your grief isn’t easy. Healing happens one image at a time. Art Therapist and Creative Grief Coach. healingforgrievinghearts.com