I Write on Medium for Art and Joy

Medium is a Salon, a Sharing, a refuge of Sanity

James Finn
Good News Daily

--

Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay

Jk Mansi is asking people to share their Medium stories for Good News Daily, her new publication. I’m delighted to participate because Medium really is good news to me. Here’s my story.

Let’s share some positive energy!

I spend a lot of my time on Medium writing about things that aren’t very happy. As a fiercely focused LGBTQ advocate, I don’t often write about the joys of life, but Medium IS a source of joy for me. So, I’m thrilled Juhi asked me to write about why I’m here. I’m going to focus on the good stuff for a change.

I can be a real artist in the company of other real artists. I can live the life of a 19th-century Parisian literary bum.

I came to Medium in February of 2018 because Quora.com banned me from writing on their platform and because I consequently lost a book deal with Random House. The novel I’d poured my soul into for years would not be published after all.

My heart broke over both events

To say I was crushed wouldn’t begin to explain the depths of my despair. I’d lost a powerful public platform that I used to…

--

--

James Finn
Good News Daily

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.