So, How Was YOUR Halloween?

October Review for Good News Daily

Jk Mansi
Good News Daily
4 min readNov 1, 2019

--

Hello All, contributors and readers of contributors at Good News Daily!

October was a wonderful month of writing, reading, and creating community here at Good News Daily. Let me give you a wrap up of our offerings this month…because, y’know…it’s getting colder most places you are reading this, and you’ll need to wrap-up…oh, never mind, this is one of my tangents.

If you didn’t write for us this month, I hope you will consider it for November for which there will be a newsletter …haha, kidding…Good News Daily does not send newsletters…be on the lookout for an announcement here!!!!!

We started the month with an invitation for personal Halloween stories, and were we ever delighted at all that came our way.

Roy let us into a little secret about this special day for him and Mrs. Roy.

Mark Starlin covered the generations in his telling.

Jack Herlocker took us into the IT department, where all the clowns work.

Linda Caroll told us the story of that spooky real-life Lurch!

Jane Vogel gave us the HORRORS of flying this day in verse. And then took the second story quite literally back to the exact non-prompt

J. Brandon Lowry found himself in a bit of a Situation…know what.i.mean?

Kathy Jacobs told us about when her husband pulled a fast one at the office.

Ré Harris brought it home with her daughter’s first dress-up brilliantly!

In non-Halloween reading we had the pick of some thoughtful pieces.

We began with a BANG-up piece by Kay Bolden, who never fails to surprise us.

From Anna I. Smith a reminder to be gentle with ourselves

Harry Hogg brought us his equivalent of Halloween on Guy Fawkes Day. Then added two Lori Tales about his child-like Muse.

Annie Caldwell shared a lovely memory of John Lennon, and his legacy of wishing for peace.

Terry Barr brought us two perspectives of his deeply felt past and the present.

antoinette nevitt gave us something to contemplate, inciting conversations.

From Hans Glickerschmucken we read about how genius affects him.

Kathy Jacobs taught us about color, and Indira Reddy closed us out with teaching us about another October holiday, Navratri in India.

I continued to post a single inspiration or quotation each day of the month, and somewhere along the way they turned into funny one-liners with animal pictures of which I have found a cache. If seeing them first thing in the morning makes you smile, I am made wholly whole. Or hole-y whole? I don’t know, it makes me happy and content. Please keep reading them and smiling. But I gotta say, they make doing a search on the GND archives a scrolling headache!

There were a bunch of my own pieces I published that felt like they needed a home at home. In no particular order, here are Jk Mansi’s October works, because historically it has been a loaded month for me.

I wrote this spoken word piece after getting really trite suggestions from some Medium related editors about how to “market” my memoir stories, to turn them into titles with questions and numbers. The sad/funny part is, Medium curated this piece, not recognizing it as being about them.

And in the Halloween spirit, two short funny flash fictional stories as not requested by the editor.

Finally, in closing, hope y’all had a wonderful time with trick-or-treaters OR whatever other grown up ways you celebrated this month!

If you enjoy reading what we offer, please consider following Good News Daily. Thank you for your support.

©Jk Mansi 2019

--

--

Jk Mansi
Good News Daily

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.