Submission Suggestions for GND

For Good News Daily, Guidelines seems too strong a word.

Jk Mansi
Good News Daily
3 min readSep 9, 2019

--

Humor has a special place in my heart, was instrumental in my recovery, and is embraced with open wings on Good News Daily. I welcome humorous essays, funny poetry, videos — short short videos — no more than 30 seconds long. These can be your own, or ones that you wish to share from social media. I’m especially weak kneed for human babies and baby animals. Jokes are welcome, singly or in a small single themed groupings of 2–5, but nothing salacious, please.

All poetry is welcome, but at this time I am unable to host Haiku or Tanka. There are wonderful homes for these with Slk.🎈at Haiku Hub or House of Haiku with Deborah Christensen or other similar pubs dedicated to this style.

I would love to host your photo essays if they come with an outcome. If there is something that feels an uncomfortable fit here, I will make sure to point your work to another publication where it will feel more at home. No one wants a story to be left orphaned and homeless. Certainly not me. Poor story.

To keep our positive energy intact, we will not be accepting posts about politics, guns, rants about the state of the world. It goes without saying that no disparaging, insulting, offensive topics or language are welcome here.

I will be posting a single inspirational quote each day on this publication (or more, if I am called to do so), and you may not feel it is inspirational at all. Or downright lighthearted on a day when you are feeling unable to rise to the challenge of a rollicking laugh, maybe not even able to muster a smile. Give yourself a break and walk away. Everything changes. Maybe I’ll smack myself upside the head for posting it, maybe you’ll feel better tomorrow.

Since I will be reading each and every single submission, I ask that you have mercy on my eyes and my addled brain, and send in short pieces, 750 words or a 5-minute read. Email draft links for submission once you’ve been added. Memoir and Creative Non-fiction if you please. If you feel the longer or fiction piece you wish to submit is extraordinary, contact me via email, and we will give it a fair going over together. If any editing is required, I will make no changes without your consent. This is a fabulous group of writers so I expect my work as editor to be easy breezy, lemon squeezey!

I am leaving private notes operational on Good News Daily, but please contact me here for a speedier response: goodnewsdaily.medium@gmail.com.

A FaceBook page for writers on this publications has been established so there can be open communication without revealing more about yourself than you wish to. Good News Daily on FaceBook. Here is the Twitter account for Good News Daily on Medium if you wish to follow or post there. Or leave Twitter handles in comments so that you can be found more easily.

Thank you for your support in this endeavor. Let’s write and grow together.

--

--

Jk Mansi
Good News Daily

To know where you're going find out where you've been. I strive to be joyful. I read. I write. I’m grateful.