Why Do I Write On Medium?

Answering Juhi’s question

Mark Starlin
Good News Daily
Published in
5 min readSep 7, 2019

--

My Medium buddy, Roy, recently wrote a story called Why Do I Write On Medium? A question presented to him by Jk Mansi. It inspired me to think about it and write my own answer to that question. Here are my reasons.

It is An Outlet For My Creativity

I know myself well enough to know that I need a creative outlet to stay sane in this world. Making music has been the primary way I have fed that creative need since I was 12, but I have other outlets also. Making comics, doodling, and, especially, writing are a few I have been pursuing lately.

Medium allows me to share my creativity with others. Which is the most fulfilling part of creativity for me.

The fact that I don’t need a publisher’s approval to publish a story is great for an amateur writer like me. I am not pursuing a writing career, and on Medium, I don’t have to endure the incredible amount of work and rejection required to be a professional writer. I can just write and publish to an audience of thousands, millions? [It doesn’t matter much to me as long as they enjoy what I write.] I love it.

Interaction & Fun

For me, these two are intertwined. About a decade ago, when social media was still fun and people hadn’t…

--

--