Why Medium?

Dennett
Good News Daily
Published in
3 min readSep 8, 2019

--

Inspired by Jk Mansi

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I came to Medium because Facebook imploded. Once an interesting space, Facebook became a cesspool of rudeness, hate, racism, poor writing, and worse grammar. Not to mention the startling knowledge that most Facebook friends are no friends at all. What started as an exclamation of Oh, look who I found from my long-ago past! became Oh, good lord, now I know why I didn’t stay in contact with that person all these years!

Most people in your past should stay there.

There is a reason we move forward, leaving behind what and who no longer serve us. Facebook destroyed the natural and necessary act of letting go.

Photo by Максим Степаненко on Unsplash

Once I realized that I needed to move forward, the letting go meant letting go of Facebook. Although I would open a new account a few months later, I was fastidious about who I chose as a friend, going from 400 to about 40. But, those 40 are good ones.

During my Facebook hiatus, I discovered Medium. Oddly, I have no recollection (and, I typically have an excellent memory) of how I came across this forum.

Perhaps, I was still drunk on tears from the 2016…

--

--

Dennett
Good News Daily

I was always a writer but lived in a bookkeeper’s body before I found Medium and broke free — well, almost. Working to work less and write more.