Not Exactly a Bison Roast Recipe

Raman Frey
Good People Dinners
6 min readJul 24, 2020

--

Image courtesy Jan Haerer, Unsplash

On August 21st, 2017 there was a total solar eclipse that ran the breadth of the United States, from sea to darkening sea. The path of totality moved through the Sawtooth mountains of Idaho and it was here that we’d driven, parking at the top of the Galena Pass, with my little brother and my 7 year old daughter, to sit in folding chairs on the roof of our camper van and watch the sky go dark.

On top of the van waiting for the full eclipse

We stayed for a few nights nearby, on a rural road near Ketchum, with an environmental activist and his wife. They were a kind and generous couple I’d met through Renaissance Weekend.

Renaissance Weekend New Year’s Eve 2019

As a thank you, I offered to cook dinner for everyone and thought they might like beef. Never have I accidentally upset a host like that, but it was a righteous anger, an indignation I soon came to admire.

“Beef is not allowed in our home!” he said.

For a moment, I thought that they might have been vegetarian or vegan, but this wasn’t the case. On their list of protests and pushes for industry divestment…

--

--