One job with all the toppings, please!

Jason Wren
Sparkumo
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2017

Pizza Forks

Let’s just get it out of the way: eating pizza or hamburgers with a knife and fork is an abomination. It’s a perversion of their raison d’être. These are foods which are crafted to represent the casting off of formalities such as cutlery. They present an opportunity to remove the artificial devices that separate us from our culinary creations. Here we have the freedom to be tactually connected to our dining experience.

OK, that all might be a bit extreme, but I still think it’s strange when I see Scandinavians eating pizza with a knife and fork. I’m an American, and for me these are “kick your heels up” foods. Licking your fingers afterwards is just part of the joy. I must admit, though, this exposes a general attitude of casualness with Americans.

Demerits of Meritocracy

Living in Finland for the better part of a decade, I’ve ran into that electrified fence of culture shock more than a few times. Never more so than when a Finnish friend and I got into a discussion over the woes of meritocracy. He was bemoaning the fact that a colleague, with little work history, was promoted over him just because they had a certification. He was never able to get said certification because he was too busy actually doing the work. He lamented that in Finland some piece of paper is much more valuable than years of experience.

I had a real shift in paradigm with this conversation. I had recently moved to Finland, and I still hadn’t unpacked all of my American preconceptions about work and other cultural norms. It’s common knowledge that Americans are SERIOUS about work, but they can tend to approach work qualifications in a slightly more casual way than Europeans.

Work Chops and BBQ Sauce

My concept of a meritocracy was a system that prized skills and attitude over certification. A diploma is all fair and good, but a person should present an employer first with their experience. There were several jobs I got when I was younger that I definitely wasn’t qualified for. I showed a general knowledge and a willingness to learn. For better or worse, learn as you go is a deeply held cultural philosophy in the Far West.

At the time I sympathized with my friend, but as I attempted to enter the Finnish workforce, I even grew to empathize with him. All my efforts to get established in areas of employment were thwarted by a mere lack of certification. It was frustrating when I knew that I had the chops, but I didn’t have the money or time to try to go through schooling just for a piece of paper. I had a family that needed to be supported right now. I couldn’t just stop working. I raged against the injustice of the European work culture.

Abomination Combination

Of course, with time comes maturity (and inexplicable body-hair growth). An essential element of wisdom is the ability to view a situation from another person’s perspective.

It’s very much like bananas and chili. Bananas are great! They are an adored fruit by young and old around the globe, but they should NEVER- under no circumstances EVER- be included in any chili recipe. This is just one of the indisputable laws of the universe, they are two things that do not complement each other.

I discovered while I was running around declaring that I had great bananas, the firms I was courting were saying, “Hey, we’re trying to make chili over here.” I was approaching them without a true understanding of their work culture. I had skill and experience, but their specific circumstances required certification.

When Europeans look at American work culture they’re horrified and bemused. It’s like an old married couple from the farm accidentally walking into a swingers party. There’s a room full of loud music with a lot of bumping and grinding going on- Oh, dear! Oh, Dear! They see a wild orgy of one night stands with no promise of commitment, and, surely, somebody’s going to catch an awful rash tonight.

European firms see employment as more of a serious commitment. This is old fashioned marriage we’re talking about here. Taking on a new employee is a serious risk, because the process of firing someone is entirely more complicated than in the US. Divorce is hard, and having a certification that this person really is right for the job is one way they can make certain they don’t get their heart broken. Let’s be honest, it also helps to cover their ass, and when you have loads of employees depending on you that’s a commendable concern.

A Wise Hunter Packs a Lunch

What it comes down to is taking the time to understand the culture of the work environment you’re applying to. Some firms are more flexible than others, and some fields are more flexible than others. It’s up to the job hunter to be familiar with the terrain. It can only increase your chances of employment. Also be prepared to be flexible yourself. An openness to try new things is a first step to success. What I’m saying is, when in Rome why not eat pizza with a knife and fork? After all, you still get to eat pizza don’t you?

Good luck and happy job hunting!

If you want to know more about how to craft a perfect resume to land the interview to the job you really want, visit Good Resume Guide.

--

--

Jason Wren
Sparkumo

Jason is an illustrator and writer interested in the true meaning of just about anything, really.