Four Days Living Off The Grid. Part III

What I learned about my taste in music after not having access to a phone or Internet.

Nick Garcia
Good Stax

--

By: Nick Garcia

Part III: The Last Shadow Puppets

By now readers I’m hoping you have been keeping up with this pesky little project. Don’t worry, the end is in sight! With the third chapter in this four part series I wanted to tackle a band that I was actually introduced to when I moved to Chicago, rather than an artist that was laying dormant on my tiny 30G iPod. That band is, The Last Shadow Puppets. I was blown away on all levels when I was first introduced to this band. I thought holy fuck! Can I just steal this music from you and call it a day? The sound, lyrics, vibe, literally the entire album I could put on repeat and listen to daily; trust me I have a few times.

July 14th 2015, 742PM Gin: With The Age of The Understatement I’m tossed into an old western. I imagine this music playing during a Tarantino film, I imagine myself sipping a fine whiskey in a shady hipster dive bar scoping out which girl I want to talk to. I know what you’re thinking; “shady, hipster” two words that don’t go together. With this band it’s the perfect combination of words to describe how I feel when listening to them. The Last Shadow Puppets are composed of Alex Turner- Vocals, Guitar (Arctic Monkeys), Miles Kane- Vocals, Guitar (The Rascals) and James Ford- Drums, Producer (Simian Mobile Disco), which basically makes this a super group of sorts. Is that considered cheating? If so, I’ll allow it. So jumping into this album, per usual the top three songs that resonate with me.

Stock image from Google.

The Age of The Understatement by The Last Shadow Puppets (Released April 21, 2008)

Initial feelings: motivated, superb, hype, thrilled

The Age of The Understatement

The opening song on this album is hard for me to describe. It’s hard because I don’t want to say anything that would take away from how simply fantastic it is. It has this epic western vibe, like you are riding on horseback through the great plains on your way to gun down a man that slaughtered your family. Okay, maybe not that brutal, but the western feeling, to me is present. The rhythmic drums, and the pure calm vocals by Turner and Kane balance out beautifully creating a masterful peace of music. The end lyrics could not have been written any more beautifully.

“And my fingers scratch at my hair.”

“Before my mind can get too reckless.”

“The idea of seeing you here.”

“Is enough to make the sweat grow cold.”

My Mistakes Were Made For You

Switching tones from a western vibe, we transition into a mellow 60’s Beetles vibe. Something that feels like it comes from a Bond film. Where is my tux, dirty martini and side vixen? The melodies and vocals have a distinct tone, that’s heard in pieces throughout the album, but greatly enhanced on this track. I highly recommend listening to it with a glass of gin and your favorite female partner at your side. Definitely will set the mood.

“She was bitten on her birthday,”

“And now a face in the crowd, she’s not”

Hang The Cyst

Although the second song on the album, it is hands down the best. Coming in at a generous 6:43, Hang The Cryst is more than just a lovely toe tapper. The song is a ballad, a story of a character that makes you pay attention to tempo, beat, lyrics, and the insane guitar solos that play throughout the piece.

“The town would shudder and stare”

“At his presence with a single glare”

“As he makes his way through”

“The local square”

Just the entire, song is a complete and enjoyable story that I highly recommend paying attention to. The detail is unmatched anywhere else on the album.

I don’t know how I lived so long without listening to this band. Fuck, how I was able to survive my entire college career and two years in this city without knowing they existed is just short of baffling. Now, whenever I need a band to get me through a bottle of Scotch, I toss on The Last Shadow Puppets. Whenever I need to prep myself for some hipster bar or craft brew festival, The Age of The Understatement is on repeat. I was almost frightened to write this chapter in fear of getting something wrong about them. But I said, to hell with it, this band is fucking amazing!

Feelings after listening: No description

Grade A+

--

--

Nick Garcia
Good Stax

Raconteur | Gin & Wine Enthusiest | Writing style — Johnny Cash meets Wu-Tang Clan. Journalist | Politics | Gambling