42: The Answer to Life, Universe and Everything

Reflecting on life and its lessons on the eve of turning 42.

The Ordinary Scientist
Good Vibes Club

--

If you’re not a Medium member you can access this article here https://medium.com/good-vibes-club/42-the-answer-to-life-universe-and-everything-920d4fd3beac?source=friends_link&sk=ddb335ca82af9c09625273e1d242c276

Photo by Mark König on Unsplash

If you’ve read Douglas Adams’s The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, you are probably aware of its play with the number 42 and how it holds the key to everything. Whatever that means!

When I picked up the book at an airport bookstore, I was fascinated by it. However, reading it did not lead me any closer to a deeper meaning, if there was any. In time, the reference lost its intrigue I remembered it vaguely as a popular joke from a popular book.

As goes with birthday months, July usually fills me with a warm and cozy feeling; flowing like the molten core of a delectable desert that one has just cracked open.

This past year has been extra special, though it started rough, feeling like I was in a dark tunnel, and just when it seemed like no end was in sight, a sliver of light pierced through. I began racing towards it, full throttle, as if something that had held me back had finally snapped and every inhibition was peeling away.

--

--

The Ordinary Scientist
Good Vibes Club

I am a scientist and group leader studying human genetics and diseases. I write about what it means to navigate life and academia as a female scientist