A “Non-Religious But Spiritual” Symbol of Easter

👋 Gina Young
Good Vibes Club
Published in
3 min readApr 1, 2024

This spring, I am obsessed with flowers. More than usual. And you know what’s been around as long as flowering plants and dinosaurs? Butterflies.

Photo by Damon On Road on Unsplash

The butterfly is a symbol of hope, transformation, rebirth, and longevity, and I’m not going to talk about resurrection here.

Butterflies Are Built on Change

Today is Easter. Since last fall, for the first time in 17 years, and largely because of the sway of my children, I’m back to my Sunday best. It’s nice to have a routine with my family.

I welcome the idea of others beyond myself to teach my kids how we need to treat each other with kindness, respect and do the right things.

Since last fall, I have been going to a community UMC church. One of my favorite things about Easter day is seeing all of the people show up in their bright spring colors, flowers and smiling faces. Today, I feel and relive this joy once again.

The two main reasons we are told church attendance is still declining:

  • Many of us are going to break if we try to do ONE more thing, kids, work, aging parents, errands, more personal time needs and a smaller time window.
  • The church and our religion have let our morality come crashing down, even if it wasn’t the case at our specific church.

And a third:

  • Spiritual but Not Religious or Not Affiliated (SBNR) is when you were brought up or introduced to a religious environment and determined organized religion is not the most important thing that matters to your faith.
  • It’s about staying connected to yourself and each other. You believe in something larger than you. But what is that? Where else do you go for doing good with a community? I’m not sure.

Butterflies Are a Symbol of Spring and Faith

The world is changing faster than we can handle. Time is fleeting. We’re unstabilized. We’re evolving. We’re not sure. A butterfly reminds us we can be fragile and we’re tough.

No matter what you practice in religion or spirituality, the butterfly is a messenger for your soul. There are many meanings behind their silent, graceful journey and they are all good ones.

Photo by Fernando Dantas on Unsplash

Peace is in the Present Moment

In Ohio, we are beginning to see the first butterflies of spring. And a butterfly is the perfect symbol of Easter for everyone.

At home in the coming weeks, I am going to be raising some caterpillars into butterflies and releasing them with my kids. We’re planting a meadow of native plants along the small creek in our yard to welcome more butterflies into our lives.

I asked my daughter today, “What’s your favorite thing about butterflies?”

“They fly and I can try to catch them!”

There is a spring butterfly show at a beautiful conservatory we attend. I watch the kids trying to catch them and I am covered in butterflies landing on me and staying for a while. Especially the blue ones.

If you’re into reflection and your journey of self-awareness, you may also enjoy reading another article from me.

--

--

👋 Gina Young
Good Vibes Club

For a Better YOU • Web Design • Presentations • Video • Compassion 🫶