Funny | Story | My Life

After Hours of Preparation, I Wore the Wrong Shirt for My Blind Date

Back in 1992, I didn’t know my mum’s iron was watching me and making notes in its diary

Alan AJ
Good Vibes Club
Published in
3 min readNov 22, 2023

--

A purple steam iron on a blue carpet
Author’s own photo

What’s the matter with him? Is he nervous or excited? Perhaps he doesn’t even know.

I don’t think he told anyone about his plans for this evening.

But I know.

I saw him reading that letter, the one he keeps hidden away. And I heard him on the phone.

He’s arranged a blind date! And it’s tonight!

It didn’t take him long to choose a shirt. After all, he only has three half-decent ones. I suppose they were fashionable before he bought them in the sale.

You’d think he’d have taken better care of those shirts, but last week he accidentally tore one on a door handle. Who does that?

Perhaps he knew it wouldn’t last because he bought two of the same design. I suppose it’s not surprising that he plans to wear one of them tonight.

Hopefully, the good one, not the torn one.

Right now, I’m important to him.

--

--

Alan AJ
Good Vibes Club

Note: I'm away until later in July, so I might take a while to reply to your comments.